Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Electric Pto


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 frenchy OFFLINE  

frenchy

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2666
  • 29 Thanks
  • 163 posts

Posted February 22, 2013 - 02:11 PM

Hey All

 

I got a new electric pto clutch for my new engine and the connector has two poles whereas the old PTO had just one connector. I assume that one is switched power and the other is just ground on this new harness. Can anyone confirm that i'm right?

 

Thanks,

Frenchy



#2 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted February 22, 2013 - 02:15 PM

Yes you are correct how ever (if i am not mistaken) they are polarity sensitive so just double check also make sure you put some Grease or Anti seize on the shaft ! you will thank your self down the road !

Cheers

Tyler


  • Alc, Texas Deere and Horse, frenchy and 1 other said thanks

#3 frenchy OFFLINE  

frenchy

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2666
  • 29 Thanks
  • 163 posts

Posted February 22, 2013 - 02:17 PM

Yes you are correct how ever (if i am not mistaken) they are polarity sensitive so just double check also make sure you put some Grease or Anti seize on the shaft ! you will thank your self down the road !

Cheers

Tyler


What will the grease/anti-seize do? Just prevent it from getting stuck on the shaft?



#4 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted February 22, 2013 - 02:54 PM


What will the grease/anti-seize do? Just prevent it from getting stuck on the shaft?

yes and with the pto clutches it's Very hard to get a stuck one off with out destroying it for the event you ever need to remove it (not saying it will need to be) but if it ever does its just insurance down the road


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#5 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,318 Thanks
  • 984 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted February 22, 2013 - 06:54 PM

  How is a solenoid polarity sensitve? Does it have a diode?

                                                 Mike



#6 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 08:35 PM

  How is a solenoid polarity sensitve? Does it have a diode?

                                                 Mike

It could verry well have a diode. The colapsing field can damage other components or give a nasty shock. Simple check with an Ohm meter will show the presence of a diode. if none, then you should be able to ground either leg


  • ol' stonebreaker said thank you

#7 frenchy OFFLINE  

frenchy

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2666
  • 29 Thanks
  • 163 posts

Posted February 22, 2013 - 08:59 PM

So if I see resistance then there is likely a diode?

#8 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 09:35 PM

If you have equal resistance (swaping the meter leads) then no diode. If the resistance is unequal when swaping leads then there is a protection device present. This one has no diode, so either lead can be grounded.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P1080126.JPG
  • P1080125.JPG
  • P1080124.JPG

Edited by larrybl, February 22, 2013 - 09:40 PM.


#9 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 09:50 PM

Woooohhhh Hold Up!!!!!! I just placed a diode across the circuit, The coil resistance is so low, you can't see if a diode is in the circuit, In other words, it reads the same as one without a diode.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P1080127.JPG
  • P1080128.JPG
  • P1080129.JPG


#10 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 09:52 PM

Do you have a small 12 VDC Power supply (a 2 amp battery trickle charger)?



#11 frenchy OFFLINE  

frenchy

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2666
  • 29 Thanks
  • 163 posts

Posted February 22, 2013 - 09:58 PM

Do you have a small 12 VDC Power supply (a 2 amp battery trickle charger)?

yep.



#12 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 10:11 PM

I just tried this on my pto with a 2A power supply, It works either way. Be careful,



#13 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 10:14 PM

I just tried this on my pto with a 2A power supply, It works either way. Be careful, Don't leave it connectd too long, just enough to see if the electro magnet is working.


  • frenchy said thank you

#14 frenchy OFFLINE  

frenchy

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2666
  • 29 Thanks
  • 163 posts

Posted February 25, 2013 - 02:27 PM

I just tried this on my pto with a 2A power supply, It works either way. Be careful, Don't leave it connectd too long, just enough to see if the electro magnet is working.

Ok. I'll connect a power and lead and try i quick before I try with the engine running. Thanks for the help! THis is one of the last outstanding items before I can put this beast to use!






Top