Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Does Anyone Use External Hard Drives ?


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#16 Kurtee OFFLINE  

Kurtee

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 7561
  • 463 Thanks
  • 415 posts

Posted February 22, 2013 - 10:25 AM

All I store on my computer is pictures. After haveing one hard drive die and a trojan wiping out all my pics on another computer I figured I best do something different. I invested in 2 portable hard drives and put all my pics on them once a month and leave in the camera intil on the portable hard drives. I store the portable hard drives in a fire save in the basement. I was able to recover all my; pictures on the 2 problem computers with programs available on line. Oh and for some reason the trojan showed up when I was viewing this site. I figure a coincidence there. Just one thing that needs doing. The 1tb portable hard drives were just over 100 bucks at Wally world. Not a whole lot when you think about putting a value on pictures.

 

KURTEE


  • Alc and HDWildBill have said thanks

#17 daytime dave ONLINE  

daytime dave

    Live long and prosper

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 531
  • 4,485 Thanks
  • 6,353 posts
  • Location: Upstate NY

Posted February 22, 2013 - 11:09 AM

Al, I have a Seagate external drive.  Mine is 500 or 750.  A 1 Tb should be fine.  

 

I lost a computer from a power spike, I'm glad I can still see the pictures from my external hard drive.  It's worth the investment.  

 

I also bought a surge protector after that experience.


  • Alc said thank you

#18 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted February 22, 2013 - 11:20 AM

I've used CD's in the past and now store stuff all over on my many Zip drives for easy retrieval and portability..  Works great and you don't have to reformat things to hook them up..  

 

I'm assuming you mean flash drives, the only reason I say this is because at one time there was such a thing as a zip drive that was basically a high capacity, for the time, floppy drive.  It really became outdated before it's time.

 

Another great feature about a flash drive is you can move your data from a window machine to a Mac or Linux machine with no hassle.  

 

Also if your hard drive does go south all is not necessarily lost.  You can use a live CD or even salve the old HD in a good computer and retrieve your data.  We had a thread a while back that tell you how to do this but I can't find it at the moment.


  • Alc said thank you

#19 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted February 22, 2013 - 11:31 AM

I use a Passport 500Gig external HD, but I need to buy another one to keep off site as a backup to the backup.


  • ducky and Alc have said thanks

#20 Arti ONLINE  

Arti
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11282
  • 1,290 Thanks
  • 963 posts
  • Location: South West Wisconsin

Posted February 22, 2013 - 01:18 PM

I backup my accounting package daily to a memory stick, this is done automatically by my accounting package .

 

Once a month The accounting package data file are sent to my email address as an attachment, that is my only real offsite backup. Also once a month I do a backup the files on the hard drive to a dvd. perhaps not the best system but better than no backup at all..

 

If my house got robbed, destroyed in a storm, etc. then  I would have  my accounting data in my email server.

 

At one time I had a tape drive that automatically backed everything up but it was slow and cumbersome to use.

 

I had used a program that created a mirror of the hard drive (Operating System and all files) but that proved to be useless when needed because the software that created the image had been updated and the old backup couldn't be read with the new program.

 

I would say I'm happiest with my memory sticks they are affordable and by alternating between 2 of them one can be kept in a lock box.

 

If you are curious how much is used on your hard drive you can open windows explorer, highlight your c: drive, right click on it and go to properties, that will tell you how much is stored on it. I suspect that most of us only use 40 gigs or less and that includes the operating system !! Everyone's needs are slightly different but some kind of backup is nice when needed.


Edited by Arti, February 22, 2013 - 01:20 PM.

  • Alc and HDWildBill have said thanks

#21 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted February 22, 2013 - 02:20 PM

I just got back from BestBuy where I bought a 3TB backup drive. I have an iMac with a 160 gig had, and 1tb drive where I keep all my videos. My backup drive was just 500 gig. Now I can back up everything.
  • Alc and HDWildBill have said thanks

#22 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,316 Thanks
  • 4,663 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted February 22, 2013 - 04:14 PM

I can't imagine needing 3 TB's of information ever!  You are either a business or a memory hog if you do!!  You may be saving data that is really not necessary..  I have a 87% empty of a 700 gig H/D in my machine..  The data I save is about 60-80 gig between pictures, manuals, music, documents & so on..  Operating system & drivers be damned if I lose them because I only really need to save the personal info..  The rest will be replaced with the new system or mainframe..



#23 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted February 22, 2013 - 04:33 PM

I have a lot of videos and pictures to back up.

 

Everytime time I have upgraded hardrives I have always thought will I'll never need one that big, well in no time I find out I really do need one that big.

 

Heck I remember when 640k was enough for everyone.


Edited by Amigatec, February 22, 2013 - 04:48 PM.

  • Alc and WNYTractorTinkerer have said thanks

#24 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted February 22, 2013 - 06:51 PM

HardDrives who needs them.

This was my first "PC".

image.jpg

Edited by Amigatec, February 22, 2013 - 06:51 PM.


#25 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,299 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 22, 2013 - 07:12 PM

I had a Tandy 1000? series as my first computer. Definitely didnt wear it out... It was outdated within a couple of years... It only had a 3 1/2" floppy, no hard drive. 8088 chip, if I remember right.

EDIT, I googled and not only found the computer here: (top one)
http://www.radioshac...sc-19/h010.html

I also found a couple of hard drive options for you guys... :rolling:

http://www.radioshac...sc-19/h013.html
  • Amigatec said thank you

#26 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted February 22, 2013 - 07:18 PM

HardDrives who needs them.

This was my first "PC".

attachicon.gifimage.jpg

 

 

Same here.

I still have mine. I should fire it up some day.

See if I can remember DOS.


  • WNYTractorTinkerer said thank you

#27 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted February 22, 2013 - 07:25 PM

I had a Tandy 1000? series as my first computer. Definitely didnt wear it out... It was outdated within a couple of years... It only had a 3 1/2" floppy, no hard drive. 8088 chip, if I remember right.
EDIT, I googled and not only found the computer here: (top one) http://www.radioshac...sc-19/h010.html
I also found a couple of hard drive options for you guys... :rolling:http://www.radioshac...sc-19/h013.html



Man those were LARGE drives, I used to have a 7 1/2 meg for a Commodorw PET. It was the size of a shoebox, and you thought it was going to takeoff when it wound up. NOTE the 7 1/2 was the "big" drive they also made a 5 meg.

#28 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,299 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 22, 2013 - 07:27 PM

Pat, did you have the tape drive for the C64?

#29 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted February 22, 2013 - 07:28 PM

I just upgraded our business computer this spring. Windows 98 running Simply accounting, That's all it

did, and it worked. Our accountant made me upgrade, because they didn't have a machine to accept the

3 1/2" floppies we sent them with data, for them to do the statements.

Now it takes almost twice as long to make an entry. What an advancement. LOL


  • MH81 and WNYTractorTinkerer have said thanks

#30 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted February 22, 2013 - 07:30 PM

Same here.
I still have mine. I should fire it up some day.
See if I can remember DOS.


Load,8,1




Top