Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ff20 Gets An Oil Pressure Gauge


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:20 PM

I've done such things to Chevy oil pumps years ago. But that's good info if I have to go inside it. Thanks, Daniel!



#17 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:29 PM

I've done such things to Chevy oil pumps years ago. But that's good info if I have to go inside it. Thanks, Daniel!

 

 

No having to go inside it!  The pressure regulator is at the top of the block.  Looking at the engine from the flywheel side, just to the right of the carb, just behind the flywheel shroud, you will see a bolt going down into the block.  This bolt presses against the spring that seats the regulator pin.  The longer the bolt, the higher it raises the pressure.  I just got a longer bolt, and cut threads almost to the bolt head.  This allowed room for a locknut, and a longer threaded section to go down against the spring.  I just put gasket sealer on the threads before I installed the bolt.  Put the locknut to where the remaining threads match lengthwise to the OE bolt.  Once you start her up, you can then adjust it downward to get the pressure up.  Once you get it where you want it, or the max it will put out, lock down the locknut & you're done.  This all hinges on the pump still being in decent shape.  If this doesn't raise the pressure at all, then your problem is either the oil pump is worn & putting out all it can, or your bearings are worn too much to allow higher pressure to build.


  • MH81, KennyP and twostep have said thanks

#18 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:38 PM

I'll look into that, Daniel! 20 PSI would be good for me at idle and warmed up. Then I know it's getting plenty of oil when I'm at a low speed and just fooling with things. Guess it's time I looked at the manual better!



#19 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:43 PM

Here's where the bolt is, at the arrow...just above the filter assembly.

 

onan1.jpg


  • MH81 and KennyP have said thanks

#20 John@Reliable OFFLINE  

John@Reliable

    Procrastinators unite tomorrow

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 36
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,416 posts
  • Location: Boston- Cape Cod MA

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:44 PM

Kenny, this really got me thinking about how good a low oil shut down would be on my B43, so off to Onan Engine Club I went, looks like it's only factory on ( P ) motors. Those are the only ones showing up from the factory with the wiring that I see. Could also be factory on older MH gen-sets and welders. But who cares, a good idea to protect an very costly engine. Your right about $$, Onan parts have taken a big jump, no matter where they are sourced. My last Onan order from Searspartsdirect just about doubled in less then 2 years.


  • KennyP said thank you

#21 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:51 PM

Here's where the bolt is, at the arrow...just above the filter assembly.

 

attachicon.gifonan1.jpg

Daniel, I just checked the manual and found it in there. I'll be looking into that after the weather warms back up. We may get some ice tomorrow night into Thursday!



#22 daytime dave OFFLINE  

daytime dave

    Live long and prosper

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 531
  • 4,485 Thanks
  • 6,353 posts
  • Location: Upstate NY

Posted February 19, 2013 - 08:55 PM

Nice job Kenny.   :thumbs:


  • KennyP said thank you

#23 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 20, 2013 - 05:13 AM

Here's where the bolt is, at the arrow...just above the filter assembly.

 

attachicon.gifonan1.jpg

Here's a pic from the B48G Service Manual of the by-pass valve:

B48G Oil By-Pass.jpeg

Instructions are pretty straight forward. Should be simple to do.


  • MH81 said thank you

#24 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 22, 2013 - 01:27 PM

I went out this morning and pulled the bolt for the by-pass out. It wasn't close to what the spec calls for. It is only .850" long instead of the 1" in the book. So I got the magnet out and pulled the spring and plunger. The spring was 1.1" long, the plunger was clean. I went to the hardware store and got an 1.50 long bolt w/ nut to replace it. I ran new threads all the way to the head. Set the nut at about 1" and put it all back together. Fired it up and let it warm. I then set it to have a warm idle pressure of 25 lbs. Wide open it runs about 32-35 lbs. Better than it was.

Here's some pics. First is the whole set up that was in it. Then the gauge with it running.Image046.jpg     Image047.jpg

Image049.jpg

I have no clue what pressure it should have, but this is about what my other Onan is running and I've had no problems with it.

 

 






Top