Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ff20 Gets An Oil Pressure Gauge


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 05:18 PM

I wanted to see what pressure the Onan was holding. i noticed when changing the filter there was a sending unit with wire attached already in there. I'm thing that is a kill switch for low pressure. So I gathered up a gauge and installed it. I don't normally cut into dash panels, but I wanted the gauge where I could see it. I did get a short pipe nipple and tee to keep the original sending unit hooked up.

Anyway, I chose a spot on the dash and cut a hole. Got it all hooked up. It doesn't have as much pressure as Big Bertha, But I can at least monitor it now.

Image043.jpg     Image044.jpg

Image045.jpg


  • MH81, Texas Deere and Horse and JRJ have said thanks

#2 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,458 Thanks
  • 6,625 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted February 19, 2013 - 05:30 PM

Nice job :thumbs: did it have  a dash light or just shut off before ?


Edited by Alc, February 19, 2013 - 05:30 PM.

  • KennyP said thank you

#3 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 05:34 PM

No dash light, so I'm thinking just shut off. I'll know more later on when I go to clean and paint the engine. I am not sure where that wire is going right now, but I left it intact.


  • Alc and Texas Deere and Horse have said thanks

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,303 Thanks
  • 28,628 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 19, 2013 - 05:44 PM

Nice job and a nice piece of preventative maintenance. I am sure you weighed the pros and cons to the dash mod, but I agree it's a nice addition. I was thinking about adding that safety switch during the rewire on the 18/6. Mine just has a pipe plug in that hole.
  • KennyP said thank you

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 05:54 PM

Nice job and a nice piece of preventative maintenance. I am sure you weighed the pros and cons to the dash mod, but I agree it's a nice addition. I was thinking about adding that safety switch during the rewire on the 18/6. Mine just has a pipe plug in that hole.

Until I can get into the engine more, I have no clue where that wire goes. It runs behind a piece of tin just above the sending unit and rather hard to see in there what it goes to. Probably something in the manual somewhere. It's a B48G engine.



#6 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:00 PM

Kenny, It doesn't take a lot of pressure to keep these engine lubed up.It looked like it was showing 25PSI..

 

Very nice job cutting in the gauge and now knowing what it's doing. :thumbs:


  • KennyP said thank you

#7 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:07 PM

Very good idea Kenny.

And it looks good there too.


  • KennyP said thank you

#8 John@Reliable OFFLINE  

John@Reliable

    Procrastinators unite tomorrow

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 36
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,416 posts
  • Location: Boston- Cape Cod MA

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:08 PM

Kenny, I would "assume" :bigrofl: it part of the ground system somewhere, maybe @ the points. I don't ever remember seeing it in the manual, but then again I never looked for it either. Great idea on the gauge too. :thumbs:


  • KennyP said thank you

#9 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:11 PM

Kenny, I would "assume" :bigrofl: it part of the ground system somewhere, maybe @ the points. I don't ever remember seeing it in the manual, but then again I never looked for it either. Great idea on the gauge too. :thumbs:

John, I'm sure there is something some where on it. This is the first I have seen. I left it intact 'just in case'. These engines are $$$ to get some parts for.



#10 Arti ONLINE  

Arti
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11282
  • 1,290 Thanks
  • 963 posts
  • Location: South West Wisconsin

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:12 PM

Looks like a great idea. All the farm tractors i have owned in the past have had an oil pressure gauge on them.


  • KennyP said thank you

#11 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:15 PM

Looks like a great idea. All the farm tractors i have owned in the past have had an oil pressure gauge on them.

If it's a pressure lube system, I like knowing what pressure it has. I need to get a new Amp gauge next.



#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:23 PM

Kenny, It doesn't take a lot of pressure to keep these engine lubed up.It looked like it was showing 25PSI..

 

Very nice job cutting in the gauge and now knowing what it's doing. :thumbs:

The other holds 20 at idle and 30 wide open. But I did put 30W synthetic in this one.



#13 Arti ONLINE  

Arti
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11282
  • 1,290 Thanks
  • 963 posts
  • Location: South West Wisconsin

Posted February 19, 2013 - 06:24 PM

If it's a pressure lube system, I like knowing what pressure it has. I need to get a new Amp gauge next.

It's sort of strange to me but if you think about it a Volt meter tells you more about the battery condition and charging system than an Amp gauge does.. also easier to hook up. I assume it was a cost thing at the factory for the lack of oil gauges and the amp meters.



#14 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,466 Thanks
  • 39,701 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:11 PM

It's sort of strange to me but if you think about it a Volt meter tells you more about the battery condition and charging system than an Amp gauge does.. also easier to hook up. I assume it was a cost thing at the factory for the lack of oil gauges and the amp meters.

Back then, Volt gauges were just coming in. May just get one of those, as amp gauges are harder to find. Who knows on the oil pressure gauge, but cost was probably a factor. Heck you could put a trans temp gauge in if you desired.



#15 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,650 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted February 19, 2013 - 07:16 PM

You're in good enough shape pressure wise.  7psi idle, and 20psi high end will keep these engines purring.  Brand new, the oil pressure is set at 35psi at the regulator.  If your oil pump isn't worn, you can raise the oil pressure by adding more preload against the bypass dump valve.  I raised one of mine almost 10psi by doing this.  The spring against the bypass regulator weakens over time.


  • KennyP and twostep have said thanks




Top