• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 welderman85 OFFLINE  

welderman85
  • Member No: 28421
  • 37 Thanks
  • 53 posts

Posted February 18, 2013 - 08:12 PM

hi im kinda new to the hobby and i was wonder what is a common oil to run. i was thinking 30w but what brand. thanks

• larryd said thank you

#2 pwombles OFFLINE  

pwombles

• Member No: 7101
  • 200 Thanks
  • 220 posts

Posted February 18, 2013 - 08:23 PM

I know some will say that all oil is the same as long as itis the correct weight, but I have found this to be untrue. I currently use Valvoline, but have also used Pennzoil in the past. I feel thatthe Valvoline is just a bit better. I did learn early on from an old Mechanic mot to use Quaker State. Everything from vehicles to mowers that he put that stuff in stunk when it ran. My 2 cents....

• larryd said thank you

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted February 18, 2013 - 08:29 PM

It's getting hard to get 30w oil here. I buy generic 30w from my local Canadian Tire store. If you want to go with a synthetic Amsoil makes a 30w version. 

• larryd said thank you

#4 Kyocum OFFLINE  

Kyocum

• Member No: 6171
  • 280 Thanks
  • 402 posts

Posted February 18, 2013 - 08:30 PM

If  your machine sits outside in the cold I would use a multi viscosity oil like a 10w-30. If it is in a heated garage garage straight 30w would be fine. X2 on the Valvoline oil. I use NAPA brand oil which is made by Valvoline.

• larryd said thank you

#5 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,206 Thanks
  • 28,581 posts

Posted February 18, 2013 - 08:47 PM