Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Monster Air Compressor For Media-blasting


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 markdombroski OFFLINE  

markdombroski

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6157
  • 196 Thanks
  • 432 posts
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted February 08, 2013 - 05:58 PM

I just acquired a new (new to me) air compressor to power my sand-blasting cabinet (and more).  I found this compressor on Craigslist for a great price.  It is a 10HP 2stage-2cylinder 120Gallon unit and will deliver 30+ SCFM capacity.  This is a single phase 10HP motor.  I will need to get a Magnetic Start switch, replace the pressure switch, and replace the belts to get this one running.

 

I currently have a 5HP, 80 Gallon, 17 SCFM unit, but would like more capacity for those tough blasting jobs.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMAG2567.jpg

Edited by markdombroski, February 08, 2013 - 06:00 PM.

  • Toolpartzman and larryd have said thanks

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,355 Thanks
  • 39,630 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 08, 2013 - 06:18 PM

That ought to do it!


  • markdombroski said thank you

#3 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted February 08, 2013 - 06:19 PM

That should keep up with your blaster! Congrats!


  • markdombroski said thank you

#4 markdombroski OFFLINE  

markdombroski

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6157
  • 196 Thanks
  • 432 posts
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted February 08, 2013 - 06:25 PM

That should keep up with your blaster! Congrats!

 

Thank you!  yes, my current compressor runs a 70% duty cycle when media blasting.  I am working the pump really hard and it doesn't have very much time to rest and cool down.  This new compressor will be able to keep up the the air demand.  Of course, I may get a higher capacity gun/tip and run it hard as well.


Edited by markdombroski, February 08, 2013 - 06:42 PM.


#5 Toolpartzman OFFLINE  

Toolpartzman

    Fun With Horsepower

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 7171
  • 468 Thanks
  • 1,280 posts
  • Location: Little Rock,AR

Posted February 08, 2013 - 06:59 PM

I just acquired a new (new to me) air compressor to power my sand-blasting cabinet (and more).  I found this compressor on Craigslist for a great price.  It is a 10HP 2stage-2cylinder 120Gallon unit and will deliver 30+ SCFM capacity.  This is a single phase 10HP motor.  I will need to get a Magnetic Start switch, replace the pressure switch, and replace the belts to get this one running.

 

I currently have a 5HP, 80 Gallon, 17 SCFM unit, but would like more capacity for those tough blasting jobs.

  Great score Mark. I didn't know you could buy 10HP in single PH. Learn something everyday.


  • markdombroski said thank you

#6 markdombroski OFFLINE  

markdombroski

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6157
  • 196 Thanks
  • 432 posts
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted February 08, 2013 - 07:15 PM

  Great score Mark. I didn't know you could buy 10HP in single PH. Learn something everyday.

 

Thank you!

 

The 10HP Single Phase units are not common.  Most of the 10HP units are 3-phase.  Commonly these compressors are used in Commercial applications such as shops and businesses where 3-phase is readily available.  The most important thing for the single-phase motor is to have an appropriately sized circuit breaker, wire gauge, Magnetic Starter switch, and thermal overload protection.  I will have to run 3 conductors (Red/Black/Green) of 6 gauge wire in metal conduit to the compressor. For air distribution, I will install black-iron 1" pipe back into my work shop.  It will probably cost about $500 in the wire, pipe, and start switch just to get the system installed properly.  I think that 10HP is probably the largest system you can run on Single phase 220.

 

Unfortunately, it has been common practice for air-compressor manufacturers to over-inflate their capacity numbers and misrepresent their product so they can have a competitive advantage.  Sometimes a motor marked at 10HP is really 7.5HP...etc.  You can look at the motor tag and do some calculations to determine if the motor is really rated as advertised.  The Marathon motor on my new compressor is truly 10HP at the output shaft.  This is done by calculating the Watts (Volts x Amperes).  Then Convert to Horse Power (Watts / 746).  Then multiply the Horse Power by an efficiency factor (HP x FLEF).  This gives you the true output shaft HP.


Edited by markdombroski, February 08, 2013 - 07:22 PM.

  • caseguy and larryd have said thanks

#7 Arti ONLINE  

Arti
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11282
  • 1,288 Thanks
  • 962 posts
  • Location: South West Wisconsin

Posted February 08, 2013 - 07:21 PM

  Great score Mark. I didn't know you could buy 10HP in single PH. Learn something everyday.

Nice find on a super air compressor.

 

Actually my catalog lists a Baldor 15 hp single phase motor !!


  • markdombroski said thank you

#8 markdombroski OFFLINE  

markdombroski

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6157
  • 196 Thanks
  • 432 posts
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted February 08, 2013 - 07:23 PM

Nice find on a super air compressor.

 

Actually my catalog lists a Baldor 15 hp single phase motor !!

Wow!  I learn something new!  That is one big-@$$  motor.



#9 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted February 08, 2013 - 07:24 PM

Wow what a compressor!  that should to the job very nicely.  Enjoy.


  • markdombroski said thank you

#10 LTD OFFLINE  

LTD

    Cub Cadet Collector

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5951
  • 1,028 Thanks
  • 1,455 posts
  • Location: Earlville N.Y.

Posted February 08, 2013 - 07:50 PM

Nice!!! You should have plenty of capacity to run your sandblaster with that.


Edited by LTD, February 08, 2013 - 07:50 PM.

  • markdombroski said thank you

#11 larryd OFFLINE  

larryd
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 15865
  • 724 Thanks
  • 1,058 posts
  • Location: bella vista ar

Posted February 08, 2013 - 08:13 PM

Good find. That compresssor should allow you to shut the other one down and use for a backup .

 

larryd


  • markdombroski said thank you

#12 UncleWillie ONLINE  

UncleWillie

    wabbit wangler

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10399
  • 12,729 Thanks
  • 7,693 posts
  • Location: Gaston county, NC

Posted February 08, 2013 - 08:17 PM

Nice find. You will be blowing hard in no time.


  • markdombroski said thank you

#13 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted February 08, 2013 - 10:24 PM

Nice compressor. I'm guessing that will need a 50amp or higher breaker? 


  • markdombroski said thank you

#14 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted February 08, 2013 - 10:49 PM

Great find. I know finding single phase motors larger than 7 hp isn't the easiest thing to do and once they get over 7 hp the price ratio to hp goes up. I have a thread buried in the shop forum somewhere with the old Ingersoll Rand we picked up and put a new motor and all the wiring in for it.

 

Still gotta get a sandblast cabinet to go with it though. :D



#15 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19314
  • 1,437 Thanks
  • 1,895 posts
  • Location: kankakee

Posted February 08, 2013 - 11:03 PM

and I thought my compressor was overkill; I have an Emglo 5HP/80 gallon w5-80V  4 cylinder 2 stage pump, I dont remember the CFM I think it's like 21 CFM at 175PSI.  but what ever it is I have done lotsa sandblasting (100 lb pressure pot)  with it and have yet to "out work" it or have to wait for it to catch up; sometimes I get a lil anxious to get started while I wait for that initial charge after I have drained the tank.... I think that has slowed a bit, it's due for a rebuild this will be its 1st since it was new in 1987, I have a kit on order  I have way more than gotten my $500 worth of use from it in the 10 or 12 years I have owned it so far....


Edited by dodge trucker, February 08, 2013 - 11:03 PM.





Top