Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

1982 314 Finds New Home


  • Please log in to reply
138 replies to this topic

#76 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 11, 2013 - 09:12 AM

A big for what its worth - After a significant temperature drop and snowfall, I decided to start the 314 in the cold garage.  Once I remembered I had previously shut off the fuel it fired right up.  It started faster and easier that the old RF 110 which was cake to start in the cold.  My guess is that the points and carb are about dead on. 


  • larryd said thank you

#77 Deere Green OFFLINE  

Deere Green

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 7192
  • 24 Thanks
  • 126 posts
  • Location: NE

Posted March 11, 2013 - 09:45 AM

A big for what its worth - After a significant temperature drop and snowfall, I decided to start the 314 in the cold garage.  Once I remembered I had previously shut off the fuel it fired right up.  It started faster and easier that the old RF 110 which was cake to start in the cold.  My guess is that the points and carb are about dead on. 

 

:rolling: the fuel shutoff will get you everytime.  glad to hear that this thing is acting like the beast that it should be.  now you just need a snow blade back in time for spring when you wont most likely need it right!


  • Trav1s and larryd have said thanks

#78 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 11, 2013 - 09:52 AM

Congrats on getting it running. Mine really surprised me with the amount of pulling power it has. The idle needs to be set to 22-2300 according to JD. This sounds really high but keeps the motor mounts from resonating and vibrating the tractor to pieces. There aren't any balance gears in these K 321's


  • Trav1s and larryd have said thanks

#79 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 11, 2013 - 10:11 AM

Brian,  in other words you are saying there's not much difference in sound between WOT and a 2300 rpm idle. 


  • larryd said thank you

#80 nade-em OFFLINE  

nade-em
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 25213
  • 202 Thanks
  • 171 posts
  • Location: ohio

Posted March 11, 2013 - 06:10 PM

Trav1s , how is your rubber engine mounts? I found out tonight that ALL of mine are broken , 2 of them don't even have rivets holding them in!! ( the steel in the middle is cracked) That could account for some of my rock n roll! :D


  • Trav1s and larryd have said thanks

#81 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 11, 2013 - 06:43 PM

I am going to check them out Friday.  I found a place on ebay that sells repops for a fair amount less that Deere.  AM141156 & AM35264 are the numbers and two of each are used.

 

http://stores.ebay.c...fsub=2111107015


 

This is the auction for M46201 reproduction piece:

http://www.ebay.com/...1-/250675034930

 

 

 

Worth noting: AM102557 has superseded M46201...


Edited by Trav1s, March 12, 2013 - 07:34 AM.

  • larryd said thank you

#82 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 11, 2013 - 07:00 PM

I am going to check them out Friday.  I found a place on ebay that sells repops for a fair amount less that Deere.  AM141156 & AM35264 are the numbers and two of each are used.

 

http://stores.ebay.c...fsub=2111107015

You can probably get the rear ones there but the last time I checked you couldn't get the thick front mounts. Deere wants a hideous price for them. My 314 and 317 were in a similar state. Fronts weak and rears shot. That is a major contributor to drive shaft problems. 


  • larryd said thank you

#83 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 12, 2013 - 07:21 AM

I really wonder if there is a poly automotive bushing that can be adapted to this application.  While poly does transmit more vibration I would gladly take that if longevity is increased.  Also, a common auto application has the potential to be cheaper.  I will do some research on this. 

 

Anyone by chance know the dimensions on the front mounts?

 

 

Rear dimensions (from what I have found) are:  2.25" diameter (rubber center is 2"), 2.475 center hole to center hole, 2.98 length

 

Searching these dimensions I found the followining xref:

BOLENS 172-5856 1725856

MTD 172-4896 (1724896)

 

http://www.ebay.com/...7-/260680918866


Edited by Trav1s, March 12, 2013 - 07:40 AM.

  • larryd said thank you

#84 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 12, 2013 - 07:45 AM

Found this too.  Still exploring options for mounts....

 

http://www.weekendfr...html?1325286997


  • larryd said thank you

#85 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 12, 2013 - 07:51 AM

The Ford takes a similar mount and I got mine from McMaster-Carr.


  • Trav1s and larryd have said thanks

#86 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 12, 2013 - 08:36 AM

The Ford takes a similar mount and I got mine from McMaster-Carr.

 

McMaster-Carr 4 tab part number - 6008K33

 

A couple of guys used these and drilled 2 additional holes.  Not a bad idea in my book.  Still looking into the poly option.


  • larryd said thank you

#87 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 12, 2013 - 08:45 AM

From what I have read I believe it is fair to say these mounts have been replaced at some point.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg

  • larryd said thank you

#88 hdg4400 ONLINE  

hdg4400

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6945
  • 255 Thanks
  • 327 posts
  • Location: Rochester, MN

Posted March 12, 2013 - 08:48 AM

Been following the dicussion on motor mounts, and probably should start another thread with my question. But here goes. Does my 318 have motor mounts, and should I be checking them for wear? I tried to find them at JDParts.com, but they weren't there in the frame or engine diagrams. For the 314/317, they are there and are called "isolators".

 

My 318 is put away for the winter, and not very accessible.

 

Harlan


  • larryd said thank you

#89 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 12, 2013 - 09:14 AM

Been following the dicussion on motor mounts, and probably should start another thread with my question. But here goes. Does my 318 have motor mounts, and should I be checking them for wear? I tried to find them at JDParts.com, but they weren't there in the frame or engine diagrams. For the 314/317, they are there and are called "isolators".

 

My 318 is put away for the winter, and not very accessible.

 

Harlan

Quick summary:  The engine in the 318 was solid mounted to the frame.  NO worries for you.  

 

Sent you a message with more details.  :thumbs:


  • hdg4400 and larryd have said thanks

#90 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted March 12, 2013 - 09:22 AM

A bit more info to ponder...  I am thinking that something from Energy Suspension's Universal line would be able to be adapted to the current mounts by simply removing the old rubber inserts and replacing it with the poly inserts.  I will post up more on this tonight as I am about to hit the road for most of the rest of today.

 

http://energysuspens...-isolators.html


  • larryd said thank you




Top