Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

What's Our Responsibility To Each Other?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Moosetales OFFLINE  

Moosetales

Always learning something!

• Member No: 8172
  • 1,088 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts

Posted January 30, 2013 - 07:37 PM

Earlier today tractorman started a new post shortly after lunch. All that was said was, “I’m done.” What followed was post after post of playful banter and words of support for whatever might be going on with tractorman.

Well, his post got me thinking. You see, I’m a social worker by birth (and by training). I come by it naturally as my dad passed along some of his fantastically intuitive and reality based genes (I’m no bleeding heart for sure). I spend my days working with kids and adults who are truly struggling with life’s challenges….big and small.

Here in Maine, a couple years back, we had a real tragedy, where an estranged dad shot and killed his two children and his ex-wife in the early morning hours of a regular old school day. It was bad enough that it happened so close to home but when I started doing some digging and realized that (through my FB account) a friend of a friend of a friend was friends with the family it made me stop and take notice of how open our lives are to the public yet how out of touch we can be.