Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Tecumseh Governor Linkage


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 VSTROM803 OFFLINE  

VSTROM803
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10269
  • 369 Thanks
  • 338 posts
  • Location: SOUTH CAROLINA

Posted January 06, 2013 - 09:04 PM

I have a 5 hp Tecumseh HS50. The cable pulls the governor linkage up. I would like for it to pull down so that I can route the cable correctly for my application. Can the linkage be replaced or modified for this?



#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,206 Thanks
  • 28,581 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 06, 2013 - 09:23 PM

Can you take a pic of the piece where the throttle cable hooks to?  I did this to a 6 horse by using that part off an 8 horse I had laying around.


  • VSTROM803 said thank you

#3 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,698 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted January 07, 2013 - 12:04 AM

It depends.  A couple of good pics could help us tell you whether it could work like that.



#4 VSTROM803 OFFLINE  

VSTROM803
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10269
  • 369 Thanks
  • 338 posts
  • Location: SOUTH CAROLINA

Posted January 07, 2013 - 05:51 AM

Can you take a pic of the piece where the throttle cable hooks to?  I did this to a 6 horse by using that part off an 8 horse I had laying around.

Here's some pix. There's probably a different model that has the linkage I need but, there are so many models I don't know what to look for. Mine is a HS50 67292k  (B)


DSCN3910.JPG DSCN3911.JPG DSCN3912.JPG

 

 


Edited by VSTROM803, January 07, 2013 - 06:23 AM.


#5 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,698 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted January 07, 2013 - 09:43 AM

I'm not seeing where this linkage will lend itself to a downward pulling cable.  By any chance can you sort of wrap the cable up over the carb and exhaust then back down under the engine the way you want?  Failing that, you can build a "see-saw" and mount it to activate the throttle lever shown in the first pic.  I hope some else can come up with a better solution for you though.


  • VSTROM803 said thank you

#6 VSTROM803 OFFLINE  

VSTROM803
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10269
  • 369 Thanks
  • 338 posts
  • Location: SOUTH CAROLINA

Posted January 08, 2013 - 09:26 PM

I'm not seeing where this linkage will lend itself to a downward pulling cable.  By any chance can you sort of wrap the cable up over the carb and exhaust then back down under the engine the way you want?  Failing that, you can build a "see-saw" and mount it to activate the throttle lever shown in the first pic.  I hope some else can come up with a better solution for you though.

That see-saw idea it something I may have to look into.






Top