5 replies to this topic

#1 Ferrariguy OFFLINE  

Ferrariguy

• Member No: 1141
  • 4 Thanks
  • 6 posts

Posted September 02, 2010 - 04:45 PM

Hi,

Wasn't exactly sure where to post this, but thought the general section would be a good start. I am new to the world of garden tractors, at least new to the world of appreciating them, and not just cutting grass with them. I picked up a Cub Cadet 147 and a Sear SS16 with sickle bar mower. I plan on doing some restoration work this winter. I have restored a few 50s and 60s automobiles...but never a tractor. I know for cars the place to get part, advice, ideas, etc was swap meets. So my question is do they have these kind of events for tractors? How do I find out about them?

I'm located in Northeast PA

Thanks,

Mike

#2 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

DR. Bolens

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,700 Thanks
  • 17,207 posts

Posted September 02, 2010 - 06:25 PM

Welcome to the Forum, Mike :welcometogttalk:

You will find there are many knowledgeable people on here.
We would love to see some pictures and hear more about your Garden tractors!
There are quite a few shows that come up for garden tractors. To see what's comming up check out our EVENTS forum.

#3 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts

Posted September 02, 2010 - 07:05 PM

There are tractor and equipment swap meets / auctions around. I'm in Northwestern PA and we have one local, just across the line in Rogers, Ohio and I heard of one in the Dayton, OH area as well. Watch your local free classified paper (that seems to be the place that they're advertised the most around here anyway) and I'm sure you'll find something closer to home. Best of luck!

#4 bhts OFFLINE  

bhts

Bob's Lawn and Garden Tractors

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 945
  • 1,413 Thanks
  • 2,117 posts