Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Youtube Freezes Up When I Am Looking At Videos


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#16 Farmlife OFFLINE  

Farmlife

    Tractor Whisperer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 12309
  • 1,232 Thanks
  • 1,461 posts

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:36 AM

It seems as if your system is "buffering" which mine used to do, I had someone help me with a faster modem, (just used an external plug-in type), and problem was gone. I eventually got a new computer and gave that one away (which is still working great for my brother btw), but that may just be your issue Maynard
  • mjodrey said thank you

#17 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:44 AM

Have you updated the system yet?

#18 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,464 Thanks
  • 39,695 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:47 AM

OK,speed test showed:
Ping:132ms
download speed:1.55mbps
upload speed:0.52mbps

What does this all mean ?

Oh and at the moment I am connected with ethernet cable.

I just tested my connection, Maynard. I'm on Cox.
Ping: 26ms
Download: 16.73Mbps
Upload: 3.11Mbps

Are you on Broadband internet service?
  • mjodrey and ducky have said thanks

#19 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:53 AM

The ethernet cable should be your fastest connection. That does seem a bit slow.
I use Road Runner and ping around 30ms, download at 2.90 to 3.0mbps, and upload at .95mbps.
Also is that broadband and are you using a router between your modem and computer. I have seen dying routers cause download and connection problems. You could plug your ethernet cable directly into the modem and try another speed test.
  • mjodrey said thank you

#20 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:54 AM

I am not up on these computer terms.What is Broadband internet service.

Oh,and I am on high speed,not dial up.

#21 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:54 AM

I just tested my connection, Maynard. I'm on Cox.
Ping: 26ms
Download: 16.73Mbps
Upload: 3.11Mbps

Are you on Broadband internet service?

Man you are flying there Kenny.

#22 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:55 AM

My ethernet cable is plugged directly into the modem.

#23 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:57 AM

Broadband is a cable connection like Roadrunner.

#24 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:02 AM

How is your download time when you download a large manual from here? Sorry for all the questions but I am trying to narrow this down to a video card issue or internet speed. Your not overlay slow so that is why I would like to see how a manual downloads.

#25 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:02 AM

Maynard, my father had a lot of trouble with his Bell Aliant high speed connection. He could not even use Skype, not even audio only. This went on for months. He kept after them until they sent someone who knew what he was doing. He found lots of problems in the neighbourhood communication wiring like unterminated lines and low signal levels. He sorted it all out. What happens is that people are changing IT providers often and connections are being made and disconnected all the time and sometimes mistakes get made and if you are in the wrong spot your speed is affected. If the problem isn't in your computer then I'd check with Aliant and see what your speed should be.
  • mjodrey, ducky and KennyP have said thanks

#26 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,302 Thanks
  • 28,628 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:03 AM

I agree with Ducky. Little slow.
Do you know what your provider's package is supposed to give you?
Plug your wire from your computer directly into the modem. You will probably have to reset the modem and might need to restart your browser, then do a speed test again.
  • mjodrey and ducky have said thanks

#27 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:11 AM

I have not downloaded a manual for a long time.It went fairly fast.

No ,I don't know what my package is suppose to give me.

#28 poncho62 ONLINE  

poncho62
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 42
  • 634 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Hanover, Ont, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:11 AM

A 7 year old computer is likely going to have less than 1 gig of ram....Might have a lot to do with the problem.
  • mjodrey said thank you

#29 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,302 Thanks
  • 28,628 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:15 AM

BTW, if I use my provider's speed test, it will show roughly
Ping 36
Up 15M
Down 5

Usually, speed test shows with a direct hookup
45
10
5

But thru my wireless router, with all the devices on, speed test shows
60
5M
3M

Almost every provider has a test... But it's kind of misleading. They want the numbers to look good.
That's why it's good to run an external company test before you call your provider to say "But this is what another test shows"
Most providers I've had to talk to at least acknowledge speed test's results as close because it looks for a local server first.
Keeps them grounded
  • mjodrey said thank you

#30 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 08:16 AM

If the manual download OK from what you are used to them I would take a look at your video card and see if there are any updated drivers available.
Hopefully Bill will be along shortly and have some more option you could try on Linxus
  • mjodrey said thank you




Top