Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Youtube Freezes Up When I Am Looking At Videos


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 05:50 AM

The videos will freeze,or I guess pause would be a better word to use.The sound does not,it keeps going.This pausing seems to happen about every few seconds,so basically I can't watch videos because of this.

I am assuming this is my computer,and not Youtube. Does anyone know what might be causing this ?

My computer is 7 years old,but I have only used it for 3 years.Oh,and it was brand new when I bought it,but I didn't hook it up the first 4 years I had it.

I am sure most of you on here have more computer knowledge than I do.

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,290 Thanks
  • 28,623 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:03 AM

Maynard, what OS are you running again?

#3 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,686 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:07 AM

Besides the operating system, what program for watching the videos? It may need updates or find a different viewer.

#4 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:17 AM

Alan, I am using Linux.

Kenny,I'm not sure what "program" it is.

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,686 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:27 AM

Since it is Linux, I wouldn't know either.

#6 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,290 Thanks
  • 28,623 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:27 AM

Linux. I am going to be no help there. What browser are you using?

#7 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:33 AM

Firefox is the browser.
Let me try Google Chrome,and I'll get back to you.

#8 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:39 AM

It's doing the same thing with G.C.

#9 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,686 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:46 AM

Probably need HdWildBill to figure this out, Maynard. I'm trying to work up the courage to try Linux (or something similar) on the laptop. But I will be contacting Bill when I do.
  • mjodrey said thank you

#10 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 06:56 AM

Maynard I am not a Linux guru either but let's see if we can get to the bottom of this issue. As Kenny mentioned be sure all updates are in place. Check to see if there are updated drivers for you video card. Is this something new or has it been ongoing for some time? Since it is happening in both browsers I would look at your connection speed. Run a speed test and let us know what that shows. How are you connected to the internet i.e. wireless, hard wire (ethernet cable), or some other connection? Who is your provider Cable, DSL, or phone line? Have you changed anything just before this started to happen?
  • mjodrey said thank you

#11 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,290 Thanks
  • 28,623 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:06 AM

Linux is usually pretty bug safe, but I do know there are some cross platform viruses and malware out there. Browser add ons are mostly independent of your OS, and can cause havoc too, but you'd have to have them on both browsers.

I've had google updater cause a few slow down situations, but not bad enough to choke video. I did turn it off, no need to update chrome constantly IMHO.

Try speedtest.net and see what it shows for speed. Do it several times. Watch for big differences in your pings and weird fluctuations in d.l. Speed, that may show an issue with your provider's hardware, not yours
  • mjodrey said thank you

#12 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:25 AM

Maynard I am not a Linux guru either but let's see if we can get to the bottom of this issue. As Kenny mentioned be sure all updates are in place. Check to see if there are updated drivers for you video card. Is this something new or has it been ongoing for some time? Since it is happening in both browsers I would look at your connection speed. Run a speed test and let us know what that shows. How are you connected to the internet i.e. wireless, hard wire (ethernet cable), or some other connection? Who is your provider Cable, DSL, or phone line? Have you changed anything just before this started to happen?



It has been doing this for a little less than a week.No,nothing was changed just before.I have not done any updates for a while.
How do you run a speed test ?

#13 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,290 Thanks
  • 28,623 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:27 AM

Speedtest.net is the one I use some. Seems pretty good.

#14 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:30 AM

It has been doing this for a little less than a week.No,nothing was changed just before.I have not done any updates for a while.
How do you run a speed test ?

Maynard, I would suggest "speedtest.net" As Allan suggested do several and look for large variations. This would indicate an issue with your provider.

#15 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2012 - 07:32 AM

OK,speed test showed:
Ping:132ms
download speed:1.55mbps
upload speed:0.52mbps

What does this all mean ?

Oh and at the moment I am connected with ethernet cable.




Top