Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Determining Speed In Mph


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted December 10, 2012 - 02:16 PM

I found this again morning and thought it might come in handy for some. The math came out of a Toro manual about 15 years ago. I used it quite a bit on golf courses to get the mowing speed between different machines the same to get the same quality of cut out of them. Pretty simple just mark out 100' and use a stopwatch. Make sure you have enough room to get up to travel speed before crossing the start line. The chart can also be used for walking or running speed.

100 Feet at
1 MPH Takes 68.18 Seconds
2 34.09
3 22.72
4 17.05
5 13.64
6 11.36
7 9.74
8 8.52
9 7.58
10 6.82

If you divide 68.181818 by the time (in seconds) it takes to travel 100 feet it will give you speed in MPH

Edited by GTTinkerer, December 10, 2012 - 02:16 PM.

  • olcowhand, mjodrey, ducky and 6 others have said thanks

#2 Lauber1 OFFLINE  

Lauber1

    DB restorer

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4926
  • 3,452 Thanks
  • 2,800 posts
  • Location: S.E.IOWA

Posted December 10, 2012 - 02:30 PM

we used to use a similar chart to get the ground speeds for spraying and other chemical work at the farm. Its fairly easy to do. I also used it for setting my mph when using the transplanter, by testing at differnt throttle settings. I was looking to get to a place of .5-.7 mph, so the help didnt have to go 100 mph to keep up with it.

#3 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 10, 2012 - 02:49 PM

Used the same formula to check speed of forklifts also. Yes you do have to be up to speed before you start timing.




Top