• Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 oldsoul OFFLINE  

oldsoul

• Member No: 1107
  • 1 Thanks
  • 9 posts

Posted August 24, 2010 - 04:38 AM

I need some help trying to gather information on this particular garden tractor. I am new to GTtalk and garden tractors in general. Just started my "collection" this summer and picked up a t-70 '61 Panzer that needs to be restored and this "Springfield Garden Tractor". I also have had for a number of years a '69 Sears Suburban 12.

Regarding the Springfield. I know from a bit of perusing on the web that there were many manufacturers of walk behind garden tractor at the time "Springfield GT" by Quick Mfg. was made. I am looking for any literature (Manuals, parts list, implements) as well as attachments that are out there. Were the implements by each manufacturer proprietary or could various walk behinds models share implements?

Here is what I know about my machine. I believe it was made around 1950 and the serial number is (CJ51266A though it is hard to read). Model number is C1160-7. It has a 3HP Clinton engine that runs quite well. The belts need to be replaced and the chain on the drive is too loose. I will try and post pics. Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails

• Springfield Garden Tractor - 6.jpg
  • Springfield Garden Tractor - 3.jpg

• MH81 said thank you

#2 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted August 24, 2010 - 04:42 AM

oldsoul:welcometogttalk:glad to have you here.

That's a nice looking old two wheeler.

#3 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

DR. Bolens

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,673 Thanks
  • 17,198 posts

Posted August 24, 2010 - 07:06 AM

That's a nice looking Tractor :thumbs:

#4 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts

Posted August 24, 2010 - 07:55 PM