Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bolens Switches

bolens surburban st series st140

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Love2Tinker OFFLINE  

Love2Tinker
  • New Member
  • Member No: 16556
  • 0 Thanks
  • 1 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted December 03, 2012 - 02:35 PM

I have a 1988 Bolens ST140 Hydro.
My issue is figuring out where the switches are and either replacing them or troubleshooting them.
I can't get my lawn tractor to turn over what so ever.

#2 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 03, 2012 - 02:41 PM

Welcome to the forum.Glad to have you with us.

May be a solenoid problem.Or a bad ground.

Edited by mjodrey, December 03, 2012 - 02:41 PM.


#3 bhts OFFLINE  

bhts

    Bob's Lawn and Garden Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 945
  • 1,413 Thanks
  • 2,117 posts
  • Location: ohio

Posted December 03, 2012 - 03:08 PM

Welcome to GTtalk. As for the switches there should be three of them. One on the brake pedal inside the frame, one on the seat and one on the hydro handle under the dash.
As Maynard said also check the solenoid and clean connections and it may also be the a bad key switch.

Also the pto switch will not let the tractor start if it is on or not working right.

Edited by bhts, December 03, 2012 - 03:09 PM.

  • MH81 said thank you

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,303 Thanks
  • 28,628 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 03, 2012 - 07:04 PM

:welcome: to GTTalk, glad you're getting some assistance.

#5 KC9KAS OFFLINE  

KC9KAS
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10038
  • 4,783 Thanks
  • 4,303 posts
  • Location: Holland, IN

Posted December 03, 2012 - 07:56 PM

:welcometogttalk:

Do you have a multi-meter that you could use to check the switches?
If you don't have one, you better get one, because you will need one for trouble-shooting.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: bolens, surburban, st series, st140

Top