25 replies to this topic

#1 Gfann OFFLINE  

Gfann
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10613
  • 193 Thanks
  • 226 posts

Posted December 02, 2012 - 01:46 PM

I've been floating this idea around in my head for a few months now and with what I have comprised I did a drawing of it and was curious if anyone had some constructive input on it, as to the design.
It is based on a cub cadet 100 mainly because that is what I'm pretty families with. I moves the engine to the back which will run the hydraulic pump. At this time I am not sure of the exact measurements. I pretty much based on the idea of a zero turn mower. Most back hoe I see the hoe is in the back and and you must leave the tractor stationary but i wanted to be able to drive it and operate the the hoe from the same position and still have mobility to move around in small places. The one question I did have for you guys is what size engine should be used, would the kohler 10 Hp from the Cub Cadet 100 be adequate? Each back wheel will have it's own hydraulic drive motor the controls will be on the dash along with the boom controls. I'm planning on using joystick valve controls for the boom.

Attached Thumbnails

• image.jpg

• Mechanic45 said thank you

#2 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,449 Thanks
  • 6,616 posts

Posted December 02, 2012 - 02:22 PM

At work we have this style towable back-hoe called Dig-It and it works very well for a small unit . I found this , might give you some ideas , Al

• Bruce Dorsi, sacsr and Utah Smitty have said thanks

#3 ol' stonebreaker OFFLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,304 Thanks
  • 973 posts

Posted December 02, 2012 - 02:39 PM

Looks workable, but what about outriggers? Digging willl really test your front axle. Looks like the seat will be too far back and low for digging visibility.
JMHO,
Mike
  • Gfann said thank you

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin