coldone

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts

Posted November 18, 2012 - 08:54 AM

I am a noob when it comes to operating systems and installations and such. My first expeirence with this was a few months ago with a $50 laptop. It was a "surplused" piece and had teh drive totally wiped. Instead of spending the $$$$ for a windows OS I opted for trying ubuntu. It took a while to figure out how to make a bootable stick (about half a day) but once I got that figured out it took about 10 minutes to get the "new" comp up and running.

Now my old laptop (windows xp) ,was suffering from years of programs being installed and unistalled, it was slow, vids were taking forever to watch. Just in general she needed cleaning up, so I decided to do a clean install of XP. WOW, 2 days later and I am still running into problems. No wireless drivers, cant update until you have certain service packs, reinstalled entire OS 3 times so far. I am starting to wonder why I need windows at this point. I cant really think of a good reason that I must have windows. I think I am going to attempt XP one more time and then I am going to put a Linux OS on it.

I mean really, does anybody know why "I must have a windows os"? I am not into heavy computing, just web surfing and such is all I do.

Rant over

#2 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

Collector of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts

Posted November 18, 2012 - 09:03 AM

That's why I went to Mac, got tired of fixing Windows.

#3 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts

Posted November 18, 2012 - 09:49 AM

I think you will like Linux. I would suggest you try Zorin it looks a lot like Windows. It was designed to make it easy 4 people that are use 2 windows.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
  • MH81 said thank you

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian