Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ahh Got To Spill The Beans (new Repower Engine For Bolens 1256)


  • Please log in to reply
101 replies to this topic

#16 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,408 Thanks
  • 3,158 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted November 26, 2012 - 07:00 AM

The 1200 Ford would most likely be Shibaura . They made all of Fords little SCUTS. That radiator would work if its not too large to physically fit?

#17 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted November 26, 2012 - 09:52 PM

The 1200 Ford would most likely be Shibaura . They made all of Fords little SCUTS. That radiator would work if its not too large to physically fit?

From what i remember it was something like 14" x 12" by 3" deep one from a Honda civic wont work ?

#18 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,408 Thanks
  • 3,158 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted November 27, 2012 - 07:33 AM

That sounds like it would work? Not sure about a civic radiator? With a tractor you need a lot more coolant capacity and area because your not moving at 30mph plus to move air across the core.

#19 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,415 Thanks
  • 39,663 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted November 27, 2012 - 08:01 AM

How about an electric fan to help move air? Of course, you need the amps to run it.

#20 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,478 Thanks
  • 5,011 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted November 27, 2012 - 10:25 AM

Take it from someone who has worn this T-shirt, Don't cut corners on your cooling capacity or airflow. You'll just find yourself trying to make it right when it is 90 degs. outside. :mad2:
The conversion I just finished came with a radiator that is about 12 x 14 inches but has 4 passes and a large electric fan. Seems to work fine. I'm hoping that will be the case this summer. On the first project I ended up trying 4 radiators before I got it right. Daniel is correct in saying that an ATV radiator won't work. My engine is only 620cc and I tried the radiator off an 1100cc Goldwing and that didn't cut it. We just aren't generating enough airflow on our Garden Tractors. This one reason that I leave the side panels off the engine compartments.
Thanks for updating us on your project.

#21 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted November 27, 2012 - 01:51 PM

How about an electric fan to help move air? Of course, you need the amps to run it.

Got amps is has a 37 amp alternator

#22 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted November 27, 2012 - 02:01 PM

To day i took the hood off and Set the engine on the frame Wow going to need to make a Oil pan that cast iron job is Huge I think i am going with a 6 inch frame extension that will Bolt in the front tubes For all don't like to cut things up guys will need to Make a New Pto (6" longer) the hood Should be simple With No holes or cuts I do need to get my Rad Asap

#23 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted January 08, 2013 - 10:03 PM

So got some progress this week (did not get many pictures) got pipe to Extend the frame (6") got the old axle off As im going to replace it with a older one with 7/8 spindles got the Squash out of the frame the one side had a Crack so i just cut it out slipped the pipes one and there tight but i and going to beaf it up i got all the Alu plate (for the oil pan) cut out and welded up but than realized that i made it to big ! the dimensions i was going off was 5.500x5.000x4.000 (close the Factory Dimensions )i made it 5.500x5.500x4.000 but was able to cut defective side because the Ss wire brush that says Use for Aluminum only got used on Steel ! putting Carbon in my weld Contaminating it ! tomorrow i put the flange on and put a Drain plug in it and clean it up then polish it ! i picked up bolts on the way home so should be able to pressure test it than bolt it on then set the engine in for motor mounts ! Quick question Is it Necessary to mount it on Rubber ??? as i drove a b5100 ? that has the Z500 and i did not see any rubber mounts actually if i recall it was bolted to the trans I will try to get more pictures ! Hopefully it will be sitting in there by the end of the week ! 

All for Tonight

Cheers

Ty

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0049.JPG


#24 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted January 09, 2013 - 02:32 PM

more progress pan it all welded up and the plug hole is taped stopped and got some cork gasket to put on it still need to pressure test and look for leaks (hopefully none) looks like tomorrow i can finish the pan and start on the frame lengthening maybe set it in !!!!! maybe then start on motor mounts ... well here is progress for today

Cheers

Ty

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0050.JPG
  • IMG_0051.JPG
  • IMG_0052.JPG
  • IMG_0053.JPG
  • IMG_0054.JPG
  • IMG_0055.JPG

  • KennyP said thank you

#25 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,415 Thanks
  • 39,663 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 10, 2013 - 07:43 AM

That is one heck of an oil pan. Will it hold the same amount? Is the oil pickup near the bottom?



#26 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,478 Thanks
  • 5,011 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted January 10, 2013 - 12:49 PM

No, it is not necessary to mount the engine on rubber. I do it just to eliminate cracks down the road and give my back a break. There is a good chance you won't have any problems.

Fun watching your project.

P.S.  What are you planning for the V8 on the stand?


Edited by Cvans, January 10, 2013 - 12:51 PM.


#27 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted January 10, 2013 - 02:08 PM

No, it is not necessary to mount the engine on rubber. I do it just to eliminate cracks down the road and give my back a break. There is a good chance you won't have any problems.

Fun watching your project.

P.S.  What are you planning for the V8 on the stand?

The V8 is my Friends for his chevelle 1970 project its bored 30 over and has new heads i plan to make the mounts as if i can take a Shim out then mount it on rubber i cant find the right mount at my Drive line place and i feel that it For the moment it will be fine fixed mounted i am beefing the frame up .. Alot so it will not flex or crack



#28 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted January 10, 2013 - 03:12 PM

That is one heck of an oil pan. Will it hold the same amount? Is the oil pickup near the bottom?

the pick up is 90 Mm from the block Kubota makes a 110 Mm deep pan or a 120mm deep pan i made mine 115mm deep it Should hold 2.3 L (close to spec i think factory its 2.4 .. ? )the Large oil pan was WAY to big holding almost 5 L because it was used for a Refer ... running for long periods of time ..so it needs large amounts of oil for extended oil change periods i plan to run the engine for 1-2 hours then change the oil again and filter (to flush out any crap ) i think this will get Factory Filters !



#29 8tyman8 OFFLINE  

8tyman8

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 5455
  • 414 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: kingston ont canada

Posted January 11, 2013 - 02:17 PM

Got some more progress i got the frame extensions drilled and Tacked up i sat the engine in place adjusting it so it sits in the Right spot before i started my mounts bolted the hood on to get references on where stuff will go the Alternator Just fits under the hood got rubber for the mounts also got some bolts ... next thing is a Radiator not sure if i will go New or used but at-least it is under way

Cheers

Ty

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0056.JPG
  • IMG_0057.JPG
  • IMG_0058.JPG
  • IMG_0059.JPG
  • IMG_0060.JPG
  • IMG_0061.JPG
  • IMG_0062.JPG
  • IMG_0063.JPG
  • IMG_0064.JPG
  • IMG_0065.JPG
  • IMG_0066.JPG
  • IMG_0067.JPG

  • olcowhand and boyscout862 have said thanks

#30 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,408 Thanks
  • 3,158 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted January 11, 2013 - 07:23 PM

Lookin good !!!




Top