• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Brando OFFLINE  

Brando
  • Member No: 14091
  • 338 Thanks
  • 331 posts

Posted November 17, 2012 - 06:37 PM

I added another Sears today an SS15 looks to be complete other than gas tank,seat and amp guage. I tried starting it but I dont have spark the plug, The plug wire itself has spark as i found out by the grab it test, but when i put a plug on the wire im getting no fire out of the plug even with a new plug??? Is this a wiring issue somewhere else. Im new to Sears tractors so any info would be much appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails

• ss15.2.jpg
  • ss15.3.jpg
  • ss15.jpg

#2 chris m OFFLINE  

chris m

Tractorholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts

Posted November 17, 2012 - 09:10 PM

Are you holding the end of the plug to a good ground when you test for spark? Sorry but I had to ask, being on the other end of a computer trying to diagnose something is tough, so you always (me) want to start with the simple things that can get over looked. If it is grounded good what type of ignition system does this engine have? If it has points it could just be they are dirty and you are getting a weak spark.

A bit more info on the engine will help. In any case good luck and congrats on the new GT! :thumbs:
  • Brando said thank you

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,292 Thanks
  • 28,624 posts

Posted November 17, 2012 - 09:27 PM

One thing I've been warned about on the Capacitive Discharge Ignitions is to always make sure the plug has a good ground before cranking. A tech told me that the will build up charge until discharge occurs internally and that can cause damage.

Re grab-it test... You're a braver man than I am, I only do that by accident. Then I curse, loudly and creatively.