• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts

Posted November 02, 2012 - 06:13 PM

I have been looking for an engine powered welder. In my welding class, there is a small kohler powered Lincoln that sits in the front of the shop. It belongs to the teacher and not the school, so for laughs I asked if it was for sale. He said I was a great student, and I could have it! Just kidding... but wouldn't that be great? LOL! He told me if I am really serious about welding and doing fabrication outside of school (which you guys see I am) I should find myself a unit that can weld in DC, like a used Lincoln Ranger; he said that would probably be perfect for me.

I have looked around a bit, and they seem like a very well built machine! Plus, not only would it give me a good quality stick welder, but I would also have a very good size generator, much bigger then the 20 year old 4000 watt one I use now!

Does anybody here have now, or used to have one of the ranger series welders? Does anybody have any advice for me?

#2 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,318 Thanks
  • 984 posts

Posted November 02, 2012 - 10:00 PM

I've never used one but just about anything built by Lincoln or Miller is going to be of good quality. If you find one take some 7018 1/8" rod and skil saw to try out the weld w/ DC and power functions. If the engine is hard starting cold or blows blue smoke they are good bargaining points.
Mike

#3 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,520 Thanks
  • 5,033 posts

Posted November 02, 2012 - 10:20 PM

I have had several engine drives and the last was a Miller Blue Star. The thing that I really appreciated about it was when running it on the auxiliary power setting it put out full power at just above idle. Having 3500 watts available without listening to a screaming engine was very nice.