Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Electric massey garden tractor


  • Please log in to reply
270 replies to this topic

#226 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 05:32 PM

Ok, one more question, is the ammeter/shunt rated at 36 volts or is it just DC amps is DC amps and heck with the volt rating?

Edited by wvbuzzmaster, December 30, 2012 - 05:32 PM.


#227 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 30, 2012 - 06:47 PM

Amp meters measure amps,

doesn't matter if it is in a

12volt system, or a

36volt system or a

144volt system,

voltage of the system makes no difference.


  • wvbuzzmaster said thank you

#228 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 06:56 PM

Alright then, so now I know what to use for an ammeter on the Springfield Electric, one I already have laying around.

 

Oh, I happen to notice your ET2 has a center cap in the steering wheel in this thread, but not in the other. Nice touch also on the personal signature by the way.

 

And if I forgot to comment on amp draw, awesome results, expecially when you compare to moldboard plow. And be careful with your shunt to not overamp it (if that's even possible).



#229 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:05 PM

When I bought the amp meter there were 2 that I was considering > 0 io150  or 0 to 250,

I chose the smaller one 0 to 150 figured it would be more accurate, easier to read when the amp draw is 75 to 100.

But it is easy to push the needle past the 150 mark so maybe I should of gotten the larger 0 to 250. ???



#230 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:21 PM

When I bought the amp meter there were 2 that I was considering > 0 io150  or 0 to 250,

I chose the smaller one 0 to 150 figured it would be more accurate, easier to read when the amp draw is 75 to 100.

But it is easy to push the needle past the 150 mark so maybe I should of gotten the larger 0 to 250. ???

 

I think you might have been better with the higher amp one since you seem to only be reading it to the nearest 25 amps already lol. I wanted the same deal on the Springfield Electric, smaller range for better readings, but I am thinking more about that lately and deciding I am not going to be reading it past initial work, and if I am working it I don't really have time to concentrate on exact amps, I have to drive the tractor, I am going to be looking at is this gear too hard on the system, like you just did. I think the Elec Traks are focused on the same goal with their ammeters: if it reads in the red, shift down now; if it reads in the yellow, you should probably pick a lower gear. Anyway, my two cents that it you keep running it off the scale your meter range isn't good enough.



#231 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:27 PM

To push mine over 150amps you have to use 4th gear, drive up to a wall or snow bank, something that doesn't move, push the foot throttle all the way down and you are maxed out over 150amps. 

3rd gear it tops out at 125 or so.

1st gear never seen it go over 50amps.



#232 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:39 PM

Well Doug, it sounds like the 150 amp gauge is good enough for what you are doing if you don't plan to climb a wall in 4th gear on a regular basis, but if that is the plan, you might need a 500 amp gauge and a fuse LOL.



#233 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:39 PM

By the way, is your system fused at any point? Might be a good idea to fuse before your ammeter, I know I will be.

Edited by wvbuzzmaster, December 30, 2012 - 07:40 PM.

  • DH1 said thank you

#234 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:43 PM

By the way, is your system fused at any point? Might be a good idea to fuse before your ammeter, I know I will be.

 

To honest it's not, hmmm, I guess I better one in there somewhere.

 

200amp controller   200amp fuse.???



#235 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 07:47 PM

Well Doug, a 200 amp fuse might be good, but I would always fuse at the lowest restriction. In this instance, you have a 150 amp ammeter, I would fuse it at that number, before your shunt. If you blow it up regular, than you know your ammeter isn't high enough.



#236 Sparky OFFLINE  

Sparky

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1574
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,892 posts
  • Location: Pa

Posted December 30, 2012 - 08:13 PM

When I test drove the METI  , it was programmed for pretty tame performance . I am guessing they had decisions to make also -  how much tiger to let loose . My biggest regret is that I did not take notes . I assumed it would be marketed .



#237 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 30, 2012 - 09:10 PM

QUESTION for those that might know.

 

The top of the line GE Elec-Trak electric tractors have a 105amp circuit breaker protecting the motor,

ET2 can draw more than 105amps, many times I have seen the amp gauge in the 100 to 125 range, even draws 150amps at times. Both tractors have a  36volt system.

 

Does this mean that ET2 has more power, more torque than the GE tractors?



#238 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted December 30, 2012 - 10:00 PM

Doug, I don't think that means more power necessarily, I think it means that GE wanted you to shift down sooner. As you pointed out you can pull 125 amps in 3rd, but if you go down to 2nd you will pull only 75 amps. If GE stated a usage range it would be affected by amp draw. I think GE is just as powerful, they just didn't want to release the beast. You on the other hand, have created nothing but a beast, and you want to tame it lol.

Edited by wvbuzzmaster, December 30, 2012 - 10:01 PM.

  • DH1 and Sparky have said thanks

#239 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 30, 2012 - 10:15 PM

I don't know, I guess the only way to find out is to do side by side tests.

 

Thanks for responding.



#240 Titus OFFLINE  

Titus

    Bush Hog Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4216
  • 1,728 Thanks
  • 2,245 posts
  • Location: Coventry RI

Posted December 31, 2012 - 10:06 PM

Wow, I work on golf cars for a living and seeing this thread and others like it, my inner geek is screaming with excitement! 






Top