Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

4 Cyclin'


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,643 Thanks
  • 7,675 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted October 30, 2012 - 10:32 AM

If my leaf blower is 4 cycling/stuttering does that mean it is running lean or rich?

#2 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,486 Thanks
  • 5,014 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted October 30, 2012 - 11:00 AM

If it is a 2 cycle it is running rich. It's not an unusual as some manufacturers actually prefer that you set them like that to prevent a lean run situation. My Ryobi tiller stated in the instructions to set the carb so that it was just barely breaking into the 4 cycle mode. Set it that way and never had a problem. You would think it would foul the plug but it never did.
  • LilysDad said thank you

#3 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,306 Thanks
  • 977 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted October 30, 2012 - 02:50 PM

My old homelite weed eater 4 cycles all the time unless I really get into some tough work. Never has fouled the plug.
Mike
  • LilysDad said thank you

#4 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,643 Thanks
  • 7,675 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted October 30, 2012 - 03:15 PM

It loses power when it does that.

#5 Farmlife OFFLINE  

Farmlife

    Tractor Whisperer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 12309
  • 1,232 Thanks
  • 1,461 posts

Posted October 30, 2012 - 03:56 PM

I have a Craftsman blower and it runs slightly lean, has since new no matter what I try...still runs great and never stutters.
  • LilysDad said thank you

#6 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,306 Thanks
  • 977 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted October 30, 2012 - 03:59 PM

I rescued the homelite from the dump about 6 yrs ago. It didn't have much power, so I removed the muffler and found the spark arrestor screen was almost plugged solid w/ carbon. I burned some holes in the screen w/ the O/A torch and it has run fine since. I guess the PO thought a little extra oil wouldn't hurt anything or else was using the wrong kind.
Mike
  • LilysDad said thank you




Top