Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

What Stator Do I Have?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted October 28, 2012 - 07:19 PM

I need a new stator for the '71. I looked and there are a few different styles. I don't know if I have a 1.5 amp or 3 amp set-up. How can I figure this out and what else might I need to know?

#2 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted October 28, 2012 - 08:15 PM

See if this helps. All I have are two B/S styles and a Kohler.
Dual Stator
Single wire Stator
15A Stator http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRqo4kiuqlA

#3 Username OFFLINE  

Username

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2568
  • 2,065 Thanks
  • 1,425 posts
  • Location: Punxsutawney,Pa

Posted October 29, 2012 - 07:55 AM

Kohler used a 10 or a 15 amp.The 10 amp had three terminals in a row and the 15 amp had two and one below.The solid state ignition used a stator with an extra wire.

#4 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted November 02, 2012 - 08:02 PM

Kohler used a 10 or a 15 amp.The 10 amp had three terminals in a row and the 15 amp had two and one below.The solid state ignition used a stator with an extra wire.


Are you talking about the terminals on the rectifier? If so, I have two terminals and one below that.

#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 02, 2012 - 08:37 PM

Kohler also had a 1.25 amp, and a 3 amp stator. The 1.25 amp was for charging only, while the 3 amp stator was for lighting & charge circuits.
If your stator has a single black wire with an inline diode, then you have the 1.25 amp system. If it has this black wire AND a yellow wire, then it's the 3 amp system, and the yellow wire is 70 watts AC for headlight operation.

Kohler also had a 10 amp, 15 amp, 25 amp, and even a 30 amp system. The 10, 15, & 25 amp stators all had twin black leads, while the 30 amp had twin black & twin red leads.

#6 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted November 03, 2012 - 04:09 PM

Kohler also had a 1.25 amp, and a 3 amp stator. The 1.25 amp was for charging only, while the 3 amp stator was for lighting & charge circuits.
If your stator has a single black wire with an inline diode, then you have the 1.25 amp system. If it has this black wire AND a yellow wire, then it's the 3 amp system, and the yellow wire is 70 watts AC for headlight operation.

Kohler also had a 10 amp, 15 amp, 25 amp, and even a 30 amp system. The 10, 15, & 25 amp stators all had twin black leads, while the 30 amp had twin black & twin red leads.


Ok, I am officially confused! From the stator I have two red leads. What am I looking for now?

#7 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted November 03, 2012 - 04:24 PM

can you post the model number off the engine, it may help us narrow down the proper stator/



#8 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted November 03, 2012 - 04:37 PM

can you post the model number off the engine, it may help us narrow down the proper stator/


I dont know why I always forget that? It is a K321S and the spec number is 601326
  • larrybl said thank you

#9 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted November 03, 2012 - 06:15 PM

I dont know why I always forget that? It is a K321S and the spec number is 601326


What I found here. http://www.messicks.com/NH/9246.aspx

K321S needs KOH237277 10A 3 prong (Call)

K321AQS needs KOH237879 15A 2 Prong "5-1/2" ($131.57)

#10 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 03, 2012 - 06:58 PM

You likely have a 10 or 15 amp stator. Can you post a pic of your stator?

#11 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted November 03, 2012 - 07:07 PM

Ryan313, does it look like this?

Attached Thumbnails

  • P1070094.JPG


#12 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted November 03, 2012 - 07:45 PM

Not with it still on the engine! I will have to take it off eventually, so I will get to it and post a picture when I get a chance to work on it.

#13 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted November 05, 2012 - 08:09 PM

I got a chance to get to the stator. Here is a picture of it.
Posted Image

In hoping to solve one problem, I discovered two more, and created another! With the covers off I saw that there was oil coming from the head. So, I will need a head gasket. I took the head off and saw a lot of carbon built up! And when taking off the stator I stripped a screw!

Here are pictures of the head. What is the best way to clean it?
Posted Image

Posted Image

In the pictures, you can see the oil stains on the head where it leaks. I don't think a head gasket will be hard to find, but do you guys have any suggestions?

#14 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 05, 2012 - 08:19 PM

Definitely not a 1.25 or 3 amp! That is a 15amp stator. Usually they have black leads, but maybe it was a PK thing with the red. You should have had a regulator that those leads connected to???? Or has it ever charged since you had it?
I usually just use a dull putty knife to scrape carbon off, but spraying it with gasket remover first softens it up to come off easy.

#15 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted November 05, 2012 - 08:21 PM

I used a can of carb cleaner to soften the crud, and a plastic putty knife, and small dremel with wire brush atachment. 2. be carefull drilling out that screw, but 3 should hold the stator fine. 3 that looks like the one I have.... If interested I would be willing to sell mine. truthfully I don't remember what it came off of, so some size measurements (Inside . Outside diameter) to make sure mine would work first. I count the same number of coils on both, so that is a plus.




Top