48 replies to this topic

#1 farmer OFFLINE  

farmer
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 12595
  • 9 Thanks
  • 94 posts

Posted October 19, 2012 - 07:53 PM

Hey guys, I bought a 1964 power king tractor today. Serial number x107 and forget the rest off hand. It has the rounded original hood and a Briggs 23. Is that 10 horse? Anyhow it looks like it used to have electric start but its been taken off I guess. It has an ignition switch on the right part of the dash with one going to ground and one that I don't know where it goes. The other side has a newer toggle switch with both wires going to a solenoid on the left side of the motor. Can anyone show me a diagram oh how the ignition works on this? I'm totally new to this. Does it need a battery? Can it run headlights? Its not getting any spark what so ever. The points seem to be properly set at .20. I think this guy will run with some tinkering!

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_20121019_204200.jpg

Edited by farmer, October 19, 2012 - 07:55 PM.

#2 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

Tractorholic

• Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts

Posted October 19, 2012 - 08:23 PM

Hmm, i wonder if that key with wire to ground is an ignition kill, like those tecumsehs on the tube frame bolens. Does the key have a on or off marker?

I had that h14 , had to use 2 switches to replace the factory switch because it had an extra post that went to ground when turned off.

#3 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

PK Fanatic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts

Posted October 19, 2012 - 08:36 PM

Good looking tractor! It looks as though it was painted at one time, can be a double edged sword.

The original electric start for that year had a toggle switch and a push button. I attached a video I took of my '64 when it belonged to my neighbor. The intent was so people can see what to listen for in bad tranny bearings, but shows the controls pretty well.