57 replies to this topic

#1 quad_man10 OFFLINE  

quad_man10
  • Member No: 13071
  • 4 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted October 14, 2012 - 10:05 AM

Hello all,
My name is Lucas. I graduated a Tech High school last year wheir i took electronics classes. Now i am mostly scraping and doing small engine repair to make some money. My latest score is a Ariens Gt20 tractor that has been sitting for years. Just getting the tractor out of a pickup truck was almost impossible. It took me, my 2 brothers, a engine crane, and a floor jack to get it out and up the drive way. This is my first hydraulic tractor. I was told it was running when it went in to storage. So far i know it needs tires, oil change, battery, seat, and other misc work. I have only had it a couple days now, but have not had time to tear in to in to see what it really needs. I will post some pictures when it stops raining out. I also just found manuals for the tractor on the Ariens website. To bad it did not come with any attachments, but i really should get the tractor going before i think about everything you can do with these.
Thanks to all who post. I will be reading this forum all day to try a learn some more about tractors in general.

#2 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,769 Thanks
  • 7,536 posts

Posted October 14, 2012 - 12:27 PM

Congratulations. You got a good heavy duty tractor. Small tractor tires often can be fixed with a tube. Carefully check inside the tire for sharps and for splits in the cords. If it is okay, a tube probably save you a bunch of money. I get my tubes at Tractor Supply because they seem to be cheapest. Pour some carberator cleaner into the gas tank if it is not rusty, to clean the carb. Let it sit a day or two. Check the spark, if its okay, add some gas to the tank and try to start it. Once it runs and works there are many attachments available. I recently saw a plow, cab, snowblower and counter weight on Craigs List in MA. Good Luck.