sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted October 07, 2012 - 08:14 AM

Instead of trying to re-invent the wheel, I figured I would ask the experts. How do you hold items to paint? Especially light weight items and rims that want to twist and turn while I am painting. Your tips?

#2 CASENUT OFFLINE  

CASENUT

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1974
  • 501 Thanks
  • 865 posts

Posted October 07, 2012 - 08:25 AM

make something to hold it from above then get or make some S hooks and 'shoot' away...GL

I'm not an expert, but the painters at work are and that is how they do it!

Edited by NutCASE, October 07, 2012 - 08:26 AM.

#3 sacsr ONLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted October 07, 2012 - 08:32 AM

I have a frame made out of 2x4 that is about 5ft tall and 6ft wide. I used heavy "fence" nails ( U shaped ) nailed under the top boards and hang what I am spraying with wire hooks or chain with a hook on the end from that. Maybe have to make 1 of the hangers more stationary and firm up how it is hooked on the frame.

#4 Newpaws493 OFFLINE  

Newpaws493
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9454
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts

Posted October 07, 2012 - 08:46 AM

Cheapy option for me is, making use of the old wire clothes hangers that come from the dry cleaners or are readily donated from the ladyfolk who no longer care to use em. Snip lengths to 'suit' your needs, bend, shape &anchor. And then toss em in a box for future projects.
  • sacsr said thank you

#5 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

Getting Out!

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,652 Thanks
  • 6,469 posts

Posted October 07, 2012 - 09:06 AM