Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Kohler K341 Troubles


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted September 29, 2012 - 06:59 PM

I have a Massey MF16 with a replacement engine in it that runs good but here's the problem.

It has a different electric clutch on it and the pulley size is different, 1" dia smaller.
Clutch on the right is an original, off of my MF14, same as MF16
010.JPG 011.JPG

The original clutch does not fit the 16hp engine, crank is smaller dia and the block does not have the mounting holes in the same spot as the original 16hp would of.
The crank on my 16hp measures 1" near the block and 7/8" near the tip, it almost looks like someone ground it down???
My 16hp block is a K341, 16hp, as it has 10 head bolts (14s have 9 bolts) but there are no threaded holes in the block to line up with the 4 mounting bolts for the clutch. What it has is 1 bolt to attach the clutch to the block, the setup is mickey mouse to me.

My 16hp crank and clutch setup.
002.JPG 003.JPG
001.JPG


The way it's suppose to be, my MF14s crank measures 1 - 1/8" dia.
005.JPG 008.JPG
004.JPG

Since I plan on using this tractor for different tasks, grass cutting included, I want to have the right RPMs off the PTO, with what I have the pulley is more than 1" smaller in dia. only the inside one, smaller one of the 2, lines up for the mower deck and snowblower. Blade tip speed will be less and it won't cut as good.

What to do? That is the problem.

Reluctantly I think I'm going to have to put the 14hp motor in the MF16.
The 14hp smokes constantly and you can hear a slight knock in it. I think I'll take it apart, see what it needs and rebuild it.
Unless someone close by has a K341 out of a Massey MF16 that I can buy I see no choice.

So I guess my MF16 becomes a MF14

Edited by DH1, September 29, 2012 - 07:01 PM.


#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:20 PM

Take your crank out of the 14hp & put it in the 16. Problem solved, IF the crank mic's out good. A K321 crank is identical to what's used in the K341.
  • DH1 said thank you

#3 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:21 PM

Take your crank out of the 14hp & put it in the 16. Problem solved, IF the crank mic's out good. A K321 crank is identical to what's used in the K341.


Same stroke?

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:22 PM

Same stroke?


Yep, a straight out swap. Only a bore difference between the 2. The blocks are different in that the 16hp has larger valves, and the head bolts, but the cranks are identical.

#5 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:25 PM

What do I do about the mounting bolts for the clutch to the block?

#6 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:27 PM

Doug, Daniel is correct, he just beat me to the punch.
  • DH1 said thank you

#7 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:29 PM

What is different, the bolt circle?

#8 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:31 PM

What do I do about the mounting bolts for the clutch to the block?


Hmmm....studying....

#9 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:32 PM

With the clutch on the block, can you find any bosses that line up and drill and tap new holes?
  • DH1 said thank you

#10 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:33 PM

And being you're keeping this as your working girl, change it all out while you've got it apart.
New bearings, remove the balance gears, new gov gear etc. Might as well do it right at this point.
  • DH1 said thank you

#11 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:35 PM

Drill and tap it Doug. Lots of meat there. I had to do that to the K341 I got from you.
  • DH1 said thank you

#12 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:36 PM

Not much way around the different hole pattern unless you can drill/tap, but if that clutch with the single mount is OE, then it would work fine, just the pto pulley size problem. I can't say for sure, but many times, you can swap the entire pulley set between clutches. The 2 clutch assemblies appear to be the same height, so you "may" be able to swap the pulley assemblies.
  • DH1 said thank you

#13 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:36 PM

With the clutch on the block, can you find any bosses that line up and drill and tap new holes?


No holes line up, not even 1

edit - Reread the post and yes looks like there is.

Edited by DH1, September 29, 2012 - 07:45 PM.


#14 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:39 PM

Not much way around the different hole pattern unless you can drill/tap, but if that clutch with the single mount is OE, then it would work fine, just the pto pulley size problem. I can't say for sure, but many times, you can swap the entire pulley set between clutches. The 2 clutch assemblies appear to be the same height, so you "may" be able to swap the pulley assemblies.


OE clutch is the one with 4 mounting holes, 1 is probably enough to hold it on, all it does is stop it from turning.

#15 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 29, 2012 - 07:39 PM

No holes line up, not even 1


Brian mean that if the block has enough meat to the block where you need the holes, then you can mark them, then drill & tap. To know for sure, you'll have to take the pan off, then look inside to see if those "bosses" are in the spots you need to tap. Chances are they are there.




Top