Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Arrrrrrgh!


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 New.Canadian.DB.Owner ONLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,223 Thanks
  • 1,450 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted September 28, 2012 - 02:34 PM

I'm about ready to put a bullet in my truck! My oil pressure sensor failed .... again! This will be # 8 since new in 2001, # 5 since Jan 2012. I've put in 3 Ford OEMs, and 4 from two different manufacuters.

It is a Ford Ranger with the 6 cylinder 3L engine. When the engine gets run for 60 minutes at 60 mph, the needle "gitters" when you pull off the highway and let the engine idle, like at an off ramp stop sign. If you turn the vehicle off, it acts normally again.

It is a pressure switch that feeds a fake guage. If you have more than 5 p.s.i. the guage sits at 1/2 scale. If you have less than 5 p.s.i. it drops to zero. When it acts up, it bounces wildly between zero and max.

My plan is to install a digital pressure guage and a new switch so I can get a real oil pressure reading when the guage goes heywire.

Anyone else faught this battle & won (or lost)? Any ideas?

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,347 Thanks
  • 39,627 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 28, 2012 - 02:50 PM

Install the aftermarket gauge and forget the other. I would have done that on # 2 sensor!
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,206 Thanks
  • 28,581 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted September 28, 2012 - 04:49 PM

Does it require the sensor to allow the engine to run? SOme of them do...

I had an old Chevy, ripped the electric sensor out & installed a real gauge after a few "Low Pressure" readings. Worked fine till I got rid of it.
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#4 New.Canadian.DB.Owner ONLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,223 Thanks
  • 1,450 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted September 28, 2012 - 06:12 PM

Install the aftermarket gauge and forget the other. I would have done that on # 2 sensor!


Some of us are slow learners. :blush2:
  • WNYTractorTinkerer said thank you

#5 John@Reliable OFFLINE  

John@Reliable

    Procrastinators unite tomorrow

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 36
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,416 posts
  • Location: Boston- Cape Cod MA

Posted September 28, 2012 - 06:44 PM

Might want to try to find a Ford Ranger "support group" forum on the internet. I have had very good luck when
problems arise with cars that I or others don't have an answer for, saved over 500 bucks on a repair for a bad fuel gauge
that I found was a very common problem by other owners, but the dealer had never heard of :(

P.S. the repair took 10 minutes and only cost 25 bucks for part. :thumbs:
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#6 New.Canadian.DB.Owner ONLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,223 Thanks
  • 1,450 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted September 28, 2012 - 07:09 PM

Might want to try to find a Ford Ranger "support group" forum on the internet. :thumbs:


A support group ... yes ... one with 12 steps ...

#7 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,206 Thanks
  • 28,581 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted September 28, 2012 - 07:27 PM

A support group ... yes ... one with 12 steps ...


This will be # 8 since new in 2001,


Sounds like only 4 steps to go.... :laughingteeth:

#8 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted September 28, 2012 - 08:30 PM

Just wondering what motor you have ? Al
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#9 New.Canadian.DB.Owner ONLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,223 Thanks
  • 1,450 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted September 28, 2012 - 09:14 PM

Not sure, other than it is called a "3 liter V6" here in Canada. 3 liters is about 183 cubic inches

#10 cookiemonster OFFLINE  

cookiemonster

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 6338
  • 406 Thanks
  • 1,274 posts
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted September 29, 2012 - 12:54 AM

I thought this was a belated talk like a pirate day post and was gettin ready to walk the plank.

Nothing else going on about that time??? Backfire nor temporary loss of power? I wonder where the oil pickup is on that thing and whether it is swimming in "muck". How about viscosity of oil. If you're running too high, it can boost oil pressure at certain temperatures and perhaps throw the sensor out with too much pressure. I'd feel it's not the sensor after that many tries and if it was a bad sensor all around, it would be all over the internet.
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#11 New.Canadian.DB.Owner ONLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,223 Thanks
  • 1,450 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted September 29, 2012 - 08:18 AM

The only thing walking the plank is my truck.

No, nothing else going on. The engine runs like a swiss watch. Doesn't burn or loose oil. No extra noises. No stumbling or stuttering. The oil gets changed every 4,000 km with Castrol GTX 5w20 & a new Fram filter. The oil pan was off and cleaned two years ago.

The many stumbling block is that a new sensor fixes the problem for about 2 months. If it was something else, it should still be dead or dying when the sensor is changed.

#12 pigsitter OFFLINE  

pigsitter

    enjoyin the livin part of life!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10704
  • 1,227 Thanks
  • 1,083 posts
  • Location: southern Illinois

Posted September 29, 2012 - 08:52 AM

Might want to try to find a Ford Ranger "support group" forum on the internet. I have had very good luck when
problems arise with cars that I or others don't have an answer for,

I'll second John's advice as I've found some of the online owners forums to be great at helping solve odd vehicle problems,kind of like coming here for tractor help.It's been a while since I had my ranger but I do know there are some great ranger forum sites on the web.
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#13 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,347 Thanks
  • 39,627 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 29, 2012 - 09:29 AM

If you have room at the sensor area, you can always tee-in a new guage and keep the old sensor in there.
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#14 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted October 01, 2012 - 08:56 PM

I looked up your Ranger on Mitchell Repair Info . Intrusting thing they use a gauge which looks like it should have a variable resistance sending unit but the they use a " Oil Pressure Switch " like you said in your first post. One of the tests is to connect a 10 amp jumper from the sending unit wire and ground . Key 'ON engine OFF " should show normal . You said yours is bouncing I would try tapping the ground to see if you can get the gauge to act up.If you can't there might be something wrong with the dash cluster .There's a lot of things tied into the oil gauge that could effect it , way more then I would have thought ,I've repaired some of our International med duty truck dashes that had cracked solder joints and the trans temp gauge's ground was bad , it put the low air alarm on ! Yea I replaced a few " Low Air sw's before I found that lol , Al
  • New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#15 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted October 02, 2012 - 05:32 AM

I think to rule out the engine would be to keep the fused jumper on and drive it if the gauge acts up that will let you know for sure it's not the engine . Also check/clean all the grounds that you can find engine ones too . You never know , Al
  • MH81 and New.Canadian.DB.Owner have said thanks




Top