Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Let's Do Some Brainstorming!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JD DANNELS OFFLINE  

JD DANNELS

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2011
  • 3,786 Thanks
  • 3,907 posts
  • Location: Newton.Ia

Posted September 26, 2012 - 11:28 AM

Ok I just got the 1500 Ford and am in a quandry. I'm looking for a tiller for it but what size?

My intent is to till strips through my garden and make raised beds about 3 ft wide and 50 ft long.
I'll then plant grass between the beds.
Now to do that How much soil do I need to bring up to make a 12-18" bed?
Oh forgot to add that the wheels are set at 48" on the tractor.

So do I need a 38",42" or 48" tiller?

Edited by JD DANNELS, September 26, 2012 - 11:29 AM.


#2 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,749 Thanks
  • 8,921 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted September 26, 2012 - 12:16 PM

You'll need 5.5 yards of top soil to make one 3x50x1' bed.

I would look for a 48" tiller. While you have a 540 pto and a cat 1 three point, you only have 17 hp at the shaft. So, initially, it will be slow going.

#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,650 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 26, 2012 - 03:02 PM

The Massey 1010 diesel only has 16hp, 14 at the pto & they will handle a 60" King Kutter easily. My BIL did have a 1010, and that tiller, and it would till like crazy, with no problem. I like a tiller that will completely till out my tracks.

#4 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,509 Thanks
  • 5,028 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted September 26, 2012 - 05:48 PM

:yeah_that:

#5 JD DANNELS OFFLINE  

JD DANNELS

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2011
  • 3,786 Thanks
  • 3,907 posts
  • Location: Newton.Ia

Posted September 26, 2012 - 09:53 PM

well 48" would probably work fine, The tread with on this tractor is set at 48" since he was using it ot skid logs out of the timber.
But will have to decide if I;m buying new or used(if used what is available). The only one I've found used so far costs more than a New Countryline-King Cutter.
I'll probably stick with that unless it proves unstable. The hills in Monroe County can be worse than the one I have.
In fact driving down there this afternoon I was commenting on all the timber growth. And Dad said that area was strip mined reall heavy( he had hauled coal out of there in 1951) and timber was the only thing that would grow on the piles left.
and the timber was growing on striped soil. He also pointed out the farm my Great Grandfather had homesteaded, after the war between the states(Cival War).




Top