Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Lgt 165 Rebuild


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 brahlf OFFLINE  

brahlf
  • Member
  • Member No: 9019
  • 11 Thanks
  • 24 posts

Posted September 19, 2012 - 08:17 PM

Hi,

I have been following this forum for a short time now and am impressed with the knowledge that is out there.

I just reinstalled the Kohler 16.5 hp that I rebuilt and crossed my fingers to see if it would run. Previous to this the engine ran but smoked so bad that it went thru a quart of oil after mowing the grass. Got it apart and found the bore at .60 over, had it sleeved back to standard, new piston and rod. Crank rod journal was .30 undersized. Bought a new crank. Had the valves ground and all new seals and gaskets.

Engine cranked right over and after a little starting fluid fire right up. No smoke, no leaks so far.

My question is while reading the manual to set max and idle RPMs. Was wondering what kind of tach is used to do this? I have been in the automotive business all my life so am familiar with tools and test equipment. Since this has points and coil I assume I could use a regular dwell and tach set up but they are for 6 and 8 cylinder engines.

Any help?

Bruce

#2 CASENUT OFFLINE  

CASENUT

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1974
  • 501 Thanks
  • 865 posts
  • Location: Sylvania, OH

Posted September 19, 2012 - 08:30 PM

http://www.ebay.com/...=item58804d3fa9

#3 New.Canadian.DB.Owner OFFLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,224 Thanks
  • 1,451 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted September 19, 2012 - 08:49 PM

If you have a computer or Iphone you can use software or an App:

Iphone app: http://itunes.apple....d340401811?mt=8

Computer based oscilloscope: http://www.zelscope.com/

#4 skyrydr2 OFFLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,165 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted September 20, 2012 - 04:26 AM

Do you own a Fluke 87 Multi-meter (mandatory auto tech tool for GM and Chrysler)? If so plug in the rpm probe, set meter to single spark mode and have at it ;) :) this is how I set up mine . If you don't have one just pick up one that reads off of reflector tape. They are pretty cheap and very accurate.
  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#5 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted September 20, 2012 - 08:30 AM

The reflector ones work well as long as you get the tape on a dark surface. If the surface is reflective they sometimes won't give you a steady reading.
  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you




Top