11 replies to this topic

#1 psfmcehall OFFLINE  

psfmcehall
  • Member No: 11619
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts

Posted September 19, 2012 - 01:55 PM

Good afternoon,
I am new to garden tractors and especially hydrostatic drives. I just bought a 317 a few weeks ago and it seems to run real good. The guy I bought it from said he had the engine rebuilt completly last year and replaced the PTO clutch. One question I have is that I have noticed that when I am done mowing I park it with the deck raised all the way up, then next day it is dropped back down. Is this common or is it leaking off pressure. It seems to drive good except for some play in the steering that I need to adjust. It mows great. Also, I need to adjust the brakes, how complicated is it to adjust. I sent this past weekend and cleaned it off by spraying it down with a degreasing agent so I could better see if there are any leaks. It cleaned up real good. The lights don't work, I need to get a couple of bulbs and redo the wires. Also the light switch is rusted so it won't turn or pull out whichever it is suppose to do. I'd appreaciate any advise.

thanks

Patrick

#2 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

Got points?

• Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts

Posted September 19, 2012 - 02:16 PM

Welcome!

The sinking deck seems to be a problem on any hydro-lift tractor. I would not worry about it as my 120 is also that way.

A "correct" switch is still available from JD if you so desire or take the switch to any auto supply store and hunt down a replacement.
  • psfmcehall said thank you

#3 psfmcehall OFFLINE  

psfmcehall
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts

Posted September 19, 2012 - 02:29 PM

Ok, thanks. Another question I had. The front grill is bent up some, how do you remove it? It appears to have two rivets holding it in the top, is this all that there is?

#4 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

Got points?

• Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts

Posted September 19, 2012 - 03:09 PM