Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Electrical Question


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 05:29 PM

Yesterday, I was helping my brother do the last few things to his demo car nd I took the blower out of it. I took it so I cn use it to make an exhaust for my sandblasting cabinet. I would like to make it so the blower plugs into a normal 120 volt outlet.

How many volts are needed to power the blower? How could I achieve the needed amount through an outlet?

I don't know if I need to find a plug with a transitor that puts out the correct amount, or if I can use an extension cord. Cut off one end and wire it into the blower. I think I know how I am going to hook up the hoses, so the electrical is all I need to figure out.

#2 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted September 18, 2012 - 05:34 PM

If the blower is a 12 Volt Dc motor, then you will need a 120 volt Ac to 12 volt Dc adapter, which can be had, but you need to know your amp requirements.

#3 Michiganmobileman OFFLINE  

Michiganmobileman

    Old Tractor Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5678
  • 1,235 Thanks
  • 1,842 posts
  • Location: Barryton, Michigan

Posted September 18, 2012 - 05:48 PM

And it may be beneficial to add a battery too if the blower draws a lot of current (amps).

#4 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 06:24 PM

Casey, I did not even think of what current it is. I will see what I can find.

#5 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 06:50 PM

I found this one. It is a battery charger from an RC car. I looked, in the bag there where three of them. So, I will not mind cutting this one if it will work. Do you think it will work?

Posted Image

#6 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:06 PM

Ryan, if that fan is putting out a lot of air it is going to need much more than 1.2 amps. I think the best suggestion is to use a battery if you have an extra one around and just use a charger on it to keep the voltage up if you are using the cabinet for long periods of time. You could even tap into one of the tractor batteries with jumper cables but there should be a fuse or breaker in the circuit to prevent short circuits from being a fire hazard. Other wise you would need a pretty large transformer, rectifier and filter capacitor to provide 12volts DC and several amps.
.

#7 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:08 PM

Ryan, if that fan is putting out a lot of air it is going to need much more than 1.2 amps. I think the best suggestion is to use a battery if you have an extra one around and just use a charger on it to keep the voltage up if you are using the cabinet for long periods of time. You could even tap into one of the tractor batteries with jumper cables but there should be a fuse or breaker in the circuit to prevent short circuits from being a fire hazard. Other wise you would need a pretty large transformer, rectifier and filter capacitor to provide 12volts DC and several amps.
.


What if I hook my 10 amp charger directly to the blower?

#8 Bmerf ONLINE  

Bmerf

    Patina Farmer / Rust Collector

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9846
  • 1,708 Thanks
  • 1,445 posts
  • Location: benton harbor, mi

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:13 PM

Ryan,

That charger says that it only puts out 1.2 amps. The voltage is correct, but I don't believe the amperage will be enough. If you look close to the blower housing it may tell the amp rating of the blower. It should not hurt anything to try it, if the amperage is to low, it will turn slow. As a test it will not hurt the motor, but over time it will burn up. Hook a 12v car battery charger to it, this will supply whatever the amperage requirement is up to about 10+ amperes and not hurt anything.

Brian

#9 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:16 PM

What if I hook my 10 amp charger directly to the blower?


What happens depends on how much current the motor actually draws. It may work fine or it could put too much voltage on the motor and overheat it. You could try it for a short time and see what the current draw is and what voltage you get across the motor. If it's less than 14v you are probably fine.

#10 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:19 PM

Ok, I will look and see if the blower has an amp rating on it.

#11 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,589 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:24 PM

Ok, I will look and see if the blower has an amp rating on it.


You can look at the fuse block on the car & see what size fuse the heater circuit uses. The fuse will likely be 30% higher than what the motor actually draws.

#12 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 07:33 PM

I just looked and the fan does not say how many amps it takes, but it did say it was 12 volt. I know, not any help.

#13 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted September 18, 2012 - 08:12 PM

From my experience I would say 10 to 15 Amps on "HIGH". Best to power with a battery and charge the battery. DO NOT wire to 120 VAC. Instant smoke and even worse.

#14 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 18, 2012 - 08:28 PM

Ryan, I think the battery and charger idea will be your best bet. Just put you an inline fuse on the + side and it should give you a nice smooth operation. You may need to wire in a Rheostat to control the speed.

#15 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted September 18, 2012 - 08:44 PM

I went out and tried some stuff.

I put the wires on the fan into the plug for the RC charger. It spun, but not very fast. I don't think that will make enough suction to pull much of anything out of the cabinet.

I also put the charger onto the wires of the fan. This made it spin with more then enough power. The meter on the charger stayed between 7 and 9 amps.

I think it would work if I just hooked the charger directly to the blower wires with an inline fuse in it. Since the charger only puts out what the fan will use do you think that it would work?




Top