• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted September 18, 2012 - 08:19 AM

Got a chop saw and I want to use it to cut up some 1/8 x 1" angle to make the sides for a battery tray. I have no experience with it so I am concerned about the saw grabbing the cutoff piece of angle. Whats the best way to cut it, vertical part to the back, front or laying upside down like an inverted V? Also do these saws tend to grab small pieces of cutoff and fling them back like a mitre saw will do with wood? Any other safety tips appreciated!

Thanks

#2 Kurtee OFFLINE  

Kurtee

• Member No: 7561
  • 463 Thanks
  • 415 posts

Posted September 18, 2012 - 08:35 AM

This is a good topic for safety. A chop saw when used should be pushed as fast as it will cut without dragging the motor down. The material being cut needs to be clamped in the vise. If not it can turn and cause the wheel to break and explode. An angle should be set with the flat side down and the other flat against the rear of the vise. If turned other ways it can come loose and turn breaking the wheel. Pay attention where the sparks are going to avert fires. Be cautious with cut parts as the end can be razor sharp. Used correctly these can be great tools. Normally they do not grab the piece and send it flying. If the vise will not hold the material securely it is best to use a different method of cutting. When you buy cutting wheels there are different ones for different cutting uses. Buy the one that best suits your needs.

Kurtee
  • JDBrian said thank you

#3 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

Therapy CAT

• Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,681 Thanks
  • 8,882 posts

Posted September 18, 2012 - 08:41 AM

In that situation, you could use a scrap chunk of 4x4 and cut the angle iron on the ground. Outside, preferably.

#4 Guest_gravely-power_*

Guest_gravely-power_*
  • Guests
  • Member No: 0
  • 0 Thanks

Posted September 18, 2012 - 09:07 AM