475 replies to this topic

#1 Moosetales OFFLINE  

Moosetales

Always learning something!

• Member No: 8172
  • 1,088 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts

Posted September 08, 2012 - 06:03 PM

Hi. I'm new to Case tractors and would appreciate any feedback you might offer. I'm looking at making a purchase of a 1971 Case 444 Tractor. It comes with a mowing deck, snow blower and tiller. It has hydralic lifts, original paint, second owner and only surface rust. He replaced the hydraulic pump recently, put in a new spark plug. Tires are good. No head lights in front where head lights appear to have been. Needs a new throttle cable. The seller is asking $1,500 for the lot. I've not found a lot to compare it to so your feedback regarding a prospective value would be helpful. Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails

• 2012-09-08 14.13.58.jpg
  • 2012-09-08 14.14.07.jpg
  • 2012-09-08 14.15.06.jpg

#2 A.C.T. OFFLINE  

A.C.T.

Another Classic Tractor

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 11085
  • 2,363 Thanks
  • 2,496 posts

Posted September 08, 2012 - 09:22 PM

I wish that tractor was a little closer to me!

I really like the older Case Desert Sand / Flambeau Red combination. I think its worth the asking price but if you got it for $1000 to $1250 it would be a nice score. I have seen these posted for $2500 in this area.I have a 448 and love it. If you rebuild the motor, the Kohlers are less expensive than the Onan's. Mine came with the snowblower but not the tiller. I have been looking for one but have not seen one for less than $450. Let us know if you get it.

#3 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted September 09, 2012 - 04:31 AM

That is a pretty good looking package.

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted September 09, 2012 - 05:43 AM