• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 scarecrow1990 OFFLINE  

scarecrow1990
  • Member No: 11402
  • 8 Thanks
  • 13 posts

Posted September 04, 2012 - 10:30 PM

I am really getting into the sport of garden tractor pulling, so i bought a john deere 212? belt drive of course. I started looking at the rule books and you cant have a streched tractor and compete in stock class I come to find out. (the one i bought is streched with a john deere 955 hood on it.) So I got to thinking. Now I have a couple questions.

1) Will a stock shaft drive rear end for like a 318 or 400 John Deere, Will it hold up for a slightly modified diesel engine? If not what will I need?

2) Could I keep the belt drive and put like a 30 horse horizontal shaft diesel on it? Or would it smoke the belts?

Like I said I am just getting into this so any adivce would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Lucas

#2 Newpaws493 OFFLINE  

Newpaws493
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9454
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts

Posted September 04, 2012 - 11:05 PM

Scarecrow, I'm goin 0 for 2 on advice, but sendin a BIG :welcometogttalk: One of the guys that knows about such things is bound to stop by and help you along. Meanwhile, enjoy the forum, warm up yer camera and thanks for joining up!

#3 Dieselcubmike OFFLINE  

Dieselcubmike
  • Member No: 11127
  • 1,327 Thanks
  • 1,511 posts

Posted September 05, 2012 - 12:17 AM

Welcome to the forums Scarecrow! I can do what I can to help with your questions but sadly im not a deere fan lol but I work with diesels so let me help a bit.

Question 1. I know some people use cub cadet rearends in their john deere's to handle the abuse in pulling and especially in the diesel application. STOCK PARTS cannot handle the toque especially if the engine has been modified.