Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Problems After Ff Update..


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 01, 2012 - 06:20 PM

Just did an update on Firefox and now I'm not showing to be logged in here at GTtalk on my avatar. Also when I use the full list of emotions, they don't copy by clicking on them, I have to copy and paste.

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 01, 2012 - 06:24 PM

My Firefox has been useless for a while now. It will just lock up, and I have to open "Task Manager" to close it out. I've been using Google Chrome a few weeks now. Thinking I need to do a complete delete of Firefox, then reload to see if it clears the problem.
  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 01, 2012 - 06:31 PM

I have been very happy with FF since I started using it a year ago, I hope this is just a quick fix.

#4 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted September 01, 2012 - 06:32 PM

I haven't had any probs with my FF, but that may be because it's not that old an install. I did a complete un/install a couple months ago

#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 01, 2012 - 06:40 PM

I just deleted the program & downloading it fresh.

#6 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 01, 2012 - 07:50 PM

Daniel make sure you delete the FF profile as well. There is a file in there that will keep FF from running it was shut down incorrectly. You are looking for this file .parentlock. I think if you type in %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles under the run command box it will take you right to it.

Brian it sounds like there maybe some privacy settings set in the upgrade that you may or may not want. Got to Firefox help and search there to see if someone else has the same problem.
  • olcowhand, MH81 and Texas Deere and Horse have said thanks

#7 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 01, 2012 - 07:53 PM

Thanks Bill, so it sounds like I need to do it all over again, as when I deleted the program, it had a box to check to delete personal info. I did not check it, so all my personal settings/bookmarks were not erased. No biggie, as I can import them from Google Chrome once I completely delete Firefox.

#8 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 01, 2012 - 08:27 PM

From what I understand Daniel there are two area's the one I mentioned above and one under your user app settings. I believe you are using windows 7 if so you will find this one under users, your user name, appdata, mozilla, firefox. The wife got the fraudulent Anti-virus malware a couple of weeks ago so when I got the system cleaned up her Firefox would not run so I had to do some research and found out about that file. The firefox online help is quite good except if you are on Linux trying to find out about a window's problem it doesn't display info about window just Linux. Hope you get it working.
  • olcowhand said thank you

#9 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 02, 2012 - 08:54 AM

I will have to try that total delete. Used FF this morning & it locked up during a flash player update. Always loved FF till now!

#10 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 02, 2012 - 08:55 AM

I think we should move this thread to the "PC Forum" as it could help others with this problem.

#11 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 02, 2012 - 09:09 AM

From what I understand Daniel there are two area's the one I mentioned above and one under your user app settings. I believe you are using windows 7 if so you will find this one under users, your user name, appdata, mozilla, firefox. The wife got the fraudulent Anti-virus malware a couple of weeks ago so when I got the system cleaned up her Firefox would not run so I had to do some research and found out about that file. The firefox online help is quite good except if you are on Linux trying to find out about a window's problem it doesn't display info about window just Linux. Hope you get it working.

I am using Win7, but can't find such a file. No appdata files under users.

#12 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 02, 2012 - 09:22 AM

I think we should move this thread to the "PC Forum" as it could help others with this problem.


Good Idea, Done ..

#13 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 02, 2012 - 09:36 AM

Have you already deleted Firefox? Mozilla may have done a good job in deleting all their stuff. I'm just so use to Window applications leaving so much garbage behind when you delete them.

Daniel you have to have an appdata folder. This is where M$ and all your other programs keep your settings and preferences. If you are using Olcowhand as your account name on your computer then it will be users->olcowhand->appdata-> local-> Mozillia->firefox etc. just delete the mozillia folder if it still exist's. Also just check under Program files and make sure the Mozilla folder has been deleted as well. It probably would not be a bad idea to also run cCleaner(or a similar program) the registry tool to make sure nothing is left behind in the registry. Hope this helps.

#14 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,561 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 02, 2012 - 10:43 AM

I look under my user, but no appdata file. I do a search for appdata, app data, and application data.....nothing found!

#15 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 02, 2012 - 11:06 AM

appdata is a folder not a file. Open the file manager and look about 1/2 down the left side you should see the c: drive. Expand it out and you will see a folder called "Users" (without the quotes) expand it out, then under that you will see a folder with your account user name expand that out. Now you should see a folder called appdata expand it out and you should have a "local" folder, expand it out and you should see several different sub-folders for many of your programs you have installed. See if there is still a Mozilla folder.




Top