Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

How Do You.....


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,594 Thanks
  • 7,654 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted August 09, 2012 - 04:49 PM

put a link in a thread without pasting a web address? You know, when you click on [HERE] to connect to a site?

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 09, 2012 - 04:57 PM

Not sure I completely understand your question but what I do is copy the link and then hit the little chain link icon with the +sign on it in the editor toolbar. A box will open up where you paste in the link and that places it in the post.

#3 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted August 09, 2012 - 05:01 PM

If I understand you correctly you want to do this. What I do is write the text I want to make the link then highlight it and click on the link button (like Brian said) and past the url in the box for the url.
  • LilysDad said thank you

#4 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted August 09, 2012 - 05:12 PM

so if i do this it should work
yep it worked....thanks. i wondered the same thing

#5 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted August 09, 2012 - 05:15 PM

Yes, that is how you do it! It is actually very easy to do. Once I figured it out I started using it quite a bit!

#6 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted August 09, 2012 - 07:35 PM

Looks like the gang got ya covered. Anchor text links are much easier to read then a full url and do tidy things up quite a bit. I know it is easier to just past a link but it is only one step to add a titled link.

#7 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted August 09, 2012 - 07:37 PM

Maybe we could get a "How-to" video of it up? I think it would be a good addition to the videos that are already there!

#8 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,568 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted August 09, 2012 - 08:54 PM

I too had no idea how it was done, and I was too embarrassed to ask. Simple as sin!

#9 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,594 Thanks
  • 7,654 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted August 09, 2012 - 08:58 PM

If I understand you correctly you want to do this. What I do is write the text I want to make the link then highlight it and click on the link button (like Brian said) and past the url in the box for the url.


That's it! Thanks for the help!!!

#10 HydroHarold OFFLINE  

HydroHarold
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9622
  • 702 Thanks
  • 977 posts
  • Location: Mid Hudson NY

Posted August 09, 2012 - 09:10 PM

Whoa LD, gettin' fancy already?:D

#11 John@Reliable OFFLINE  

John@Reliable

    Procrastinators unite tomorrow

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 36
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,416 posts
  • Location: Boston- Cape Cod MA

Posted August 09, 2012 - 09:25 PM

Whoa LD, gettin' fancy already? :D


Now he just needs to remember what he wanted to link to :smilewink:

#12 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted August 10, 2012 - 10:42 AM

Just an FYI the Candy button, in my signature , is just a link. But instead of linking to a page it links to a file and has an image as it's text.


Maybe we could get a "How-to" video of it up? I think it would be a good addition to the videos that are already there!


Ryan: That is a pretty good idea. I'll see what I can do.

#13 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,698 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted August 10, 2012 - 10:56 AM

Very interesting. I'll have to try it one day, though so far I've been ok with just posting the links.

#14 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,594 Thanks
  • 7,654 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted August 10, 2012 - 04:31 PM

Whoa LD, gettin' fancy already? :D


I'm going to put an image of a hotchy-kotchy girl for you to press on! ( It will take you to a web site for Geritol!!!)

#15 HydroHarold OFFLINE  

HydroHarold
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9622
  • 702 Thanks
  • 977 posts
  • Location: Mid Hudson NY

Posted August 10, 2012 - 09:28 PM

"It will take you to a web site for Geritol!!!"


"Geritol has more than twice the iron of
ordinary supplements."
However, it does not supply half the boost as a pack of double stuffed Oreos and a liter of Coke!

:D










Top