19 replies to this topic

#1 jstiteler OFFLINE  

jstiteler
  • Member No: 10535
  • 9 Thanks
  • 44 posts

Posted July 16, 2012 - 07:22 AM

Good morning,

I am a newbie here and have a few questions. First of all this site is fantastic I have been doing some reading on here and it is great to have a place with this amount of information and documentation of different projects and issues that others have been through and taking the time to help others.

I had the opportunity to buy a MF 12, but I dropped the ball and it sold. I saw a posting yesterday for a MF 7 hydrostatic and spoke to the guy last night. It turned out to be the father of an old childhood friend. He said that he had bought the tractor a few months ago and it appeared that the previous owner had put a 12 HP motor on it, but had gotten into trouble and not completed it. He said that he had not started it, due to the connection plug being different. I am assuming he meant the plug from the ignition to the battery/starter? Has anyone else done this before? Based off of my reading it may not be a bad thing based off of the issues with the 7 HP motors. Are there any other issues I should be aware of in doing this? I am just wondering if I am getting myself into more than I bargained for.

Thank you in advance,

Jason

Edited by KennyP, July 16, 2012 - 06:52 PM.

• middleageddeere said thank you

#2 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,433 Thanks
  • 39,673 posts

Posted July 16, 2012 - 07:31 AM

Welcome to the forum, Jason! Glad to have you aboard! Some of the Massey guys will be along shortly.
I am not very computer literate, but whats up with all the <p> in your post?

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,276 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts

Posted July 16, 2012 - 07:39 AM