• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 FLFKY OFFLINE  

FLFKY
  • Member No: 10444
  • 3 Thanks
  • 7 posts

Posted July 10, 2012 - 08:20 PM

I'm a noob to much of this stuff so go easy on me..... :)

Just bought a GT-18 off Craigslist, got it pretty cheap and I like all the features available with the tractor. Here's some of my issues.

When the tractor is put under some stress i.e. climbing a hill or cutting thick grass it starts to bog down and stalls

Center PTO for mower just quits for no apparent reason - rear PTO continues to spin

I'll be changing oil and filters this weekend, but that's about as much as I know how to do.

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,254 Thanks
  • 28,603 posts

Posted July 10, 2012 - 08:33 PM

:welcome: to GTTalk.

Sound like you may be having some fuel issues and maybe an electrical problem with the PTO.

The fuel issue, I would start with running a heavy mix of Seafoam, Marvel Mystery Oil, or Gumout in your gas. Sometimes this is enough, sometimes you have to rebuild the carb. It could be a fuel pump issue, but let's start with the additives first.

As for the PTO, do you have a multi-meter or test light?
  • FLFKY said thank you

#3 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,698 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts

Posted July 10, 2012 - 09:27 PM