Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hydro Project Question


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted July 05, 2012 - 10:10 AM

Ok so I am planning on making a road grater, similar to MichiganMobileMan's (Link). I am thinking about it a hydro. I haven't looked at my 317 yet to verify but I assume there are two hoses connected to the rear end. My thought and question is this, can I just split that hose and run it to two rear ends? It seems like it would have less speed but should work, right?

#2 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted July 05, 2012 - 10:28 AM

I am not sure, if they re hoses I wouldn't see why you couldn't split them. I don't think you would loose speed. (although you might) I would be more concerned about loosing power.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#3 jwc3232 OFFLINE  

jwc3232
  • Member
  • Member No: 10402
  • 42 Thanks
  • 54 posts
  • Location: ridgeway ont canada

Posted July 05, 2012 - 11:09 AM

im not a jd guy more into case but here goes ok you have a input line and a out put line take your out put line from your fiont and run it to your input on rear then your out put line from rear to your cooler our where ever it runs to normaly confused yet some times i have trouble explaining what i mean hope this helps jim
  • MH81 and middleageddeere have said thanks

#4 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted July 05, 2012 - 11:25 AM

If I remember correctly, JD 317 doesn't use hydro lines between the pump and the trans axle, it is done internally as they are mated as one unit. You could make up a drive shaft to go between the 2 hydro's, since they both have a input and output shaft.
  • middleageddeere and jwc3232 have said thanks

#5 jwc3232 OFFLINE  

jwc3232
  • Member
  • Member No: 10402
  • 42 Thanks
  • 54 posts
  • Location: ridgeway ont canada

Posted July 05, 2012 - 11:44 AM

see i told you i was a case guy i tried jim
  • Texas Deere and Horse and middleageddeere have said thanks

#6 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,650 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted July 05, 2012 - 11:49 AM

If I remember correctly, JD 317 doesn't use hydro lines between the pump and the trans axle, it is done internally as they are mated as one unit. You could make up a drive shaft to go between the 2 hydro's, since they both have a input and output shaft.


Brian is right, no way to do this as it is internally plumbed. The hoses are simply return & supply lines. All pressure lines are fully internal.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#7 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:03 PM

Ok...So I would have to mate the two rear ends with the shafts? Any advice on this? Sounds like maybe it is harder than I thought...I was thinking I would eliminate the problem of shifting two rear ends...

Edited by middleageddeere, July 05, 2012 - 12:04 PM.


#8 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:21 PM

Ok...So I would have to mate the two rear ends with the shafts? Any advice on this? Sounds like maybe it is harder than I thought...I was thinking I would eliminate the problem of shifting two rear ends...


I think it did get harder! LOL! Now, you will also have to think about universal joints in the drive shaft.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#9 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:26 PM

Yeah, scratch that, I think I would rather mess with two gear shifters than trying to figure mating drive shafts...bummer.

#10 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:28 PM

Yeah, scratch that, I think I would rather mess with two gear shifters than trying to figure mating drive shafts...bummer.


Yes, I have thought about things like this a LOT and I always seem to come back to trans-axles that are belt drive or case rears. I think the case rears have hoses like you wanted to do originally.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#11 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:32 PM

Well, maybe I could look into doing this out of Cases then...The 220 would be like that?

#12 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:33 PM

The Wheel Horse "D" series used a separate pump- trans axle set up also.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#13 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:41 PM

Well, maybe I could look into doing this out of Cases then...The 220 would be like that?


Beats me! I don't know what models used it. I just know that I have heard people taking about them. Maybe there would be more info in the manual section.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#14 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:45 PM

Anyone around PA coming my way anytime soon? http://www.ebay.com/...=item27c8c9828c

#15 jwc3232 OFFLINE  

jwc3232
  • Member
  • Member No: 10402
  • 42 Thanks
  • 54 posts
  • Location: ridgeway ont canada

Posted July 05, 2012 - 12:51 PM

case diffs are the way to go alright a 400 seies would be best for the tall wheals if i were to do it i would use one diff and put sprocket rear wheal was andchain drive too axles on a walking beam that way you woudnt high center on one axle always having both rear axles driving look at a real grader you will get the idea im talking a bout jim
  • middleageddeere said thank you




Top