#1 Newpaws493 OFFLINE  

Newpaws493
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9454
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts

Posted June 17, 2012 - 09:45 AM

Need best / worst case help with what seems to be bad drive or data on it. I'm not that great with computers but here's the thing; 90% of the time I'm working from a laptop, (HP running Windows 7 XP)
attached by usb is 500Gb 'store all' which now seems to be going down and I can't seem to access it or the mutiple files, pics, pdfs,etc., The message I got was "Drive needs to be formatted to use.." and then
"error cyclic redundancy check" . Either of these leaves me clueless as I figure if I should attempt to format a drive I've been using pretty much problem free for a couple of years now, I may actually be erasing allllll my stuff. Before it got to this phase (last night) I had started to notice little signs like taking longer to open folders and some pics which had been fine prior were now stalling to open or not being read like they were somehow damaged...I don't know where to go from here :wallbanging: :help:

#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts

Posted June 17, 2012 - 09:59 AM

Definitely sounds like she is dying. I would attempt to copy everything you can off that drive before things get worse. This may save some of the data on that drive.
If that is not possible anymore get back to us.
  • Newpaws493 said thank you

#3 Newpaws493 OFFLINE  

Newpaws493
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts

Posted June 17, 2012 - 01:03 PM

Thanks duck, but how does copy process go? At this point I can't even tell how much data is stored on unit,nor have on hand unit to transfer all to...I'll keep you posted, was thinking there might be a way to undue damage,..maybe? :confuse:

#4 ncb OFFLINE  

ncb
  • Member No: 3755
  • 51 Thanks
  • 215 posts

Posted June 17, 2012 - 01:13 PM