Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Mv16 Help


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 06, 2012 - 04:19 AM

this started in the ford form but kinda died. i need help getting the engine running right so i can start using it. the start can be found here http://gardentractor...rting-problems/
i have since checked for a spark with the kill wire off and there is no spark.

when i hook the kill switch wire back up and start it and the blower housing is laying forward towards the carb it sparks off the carb. i take it this means theres a short someplace. would it be in the voltage regulator or something else.
also while checking around while the shroud was off i noticed that the plug wires looked like they was cut or something.
here is a pic of the plug wires.
Posted Image

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 06, 2012 - 04:26 AM

I would say your plug wires are shorting to anything close by. Are those replaceable? Or, do you have to change out the whole thing?

#3 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,450 Thanks
  • 6,616 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted June 06, 2012 - 05:47 AM

Think Kenny is right with those wires ,If you can't replace just the wires without changing the coil too you might be able to seal them with liquid tape then regular electric tape . Al http://www.liquidtape.com/

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 06, 2012 - 07:09 AM

I used good electrical tape and some heat shrink to protect a cut like that one time.

#5 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 06, 2012 - 02:19 PM

ill try and find some liquid tape(which i never heard of) and wrap tape around it.
would that also keep it from losing spark after awhile and not start till the next day?

#6 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 07, 2012 - 03:29 PM

UPDATE.
wrapped up the plug wires real good and ran my finger around them and i didnt get shocked :dancingbanana:
i then moved the shroud around on the carb, and i still have spark :confuse:
im not off work till monday and tuesday so i can try and trace down a bare wire or something.
also ..... any idea why it wont start after it has ran for a while? could the short be causing this to happen ?

#7 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 11, 2012 - 05:37 AM

sorry to bring this back to life but have a couple ??
i ordered a new ignition module and after i did i was looking around the net and seen some people have problems with the stator.
i have never messed with a engine with a stator and am wondering if this could be my problem?

#8 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 11, 2012 - 05:44 AM

Sounds as something is overheating or breaking down. I'm going to go back thru the thread and see if you changed the condenser. If not, look into it, as they can cause the darndest problems.

#9 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 11, 2012 - 05:50 AM

if it doesn't have points will it still have a condenser ?

#10 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 11, 2012 - 05:57 AM

IDK for sure, I know some of the older vert shaft push Mowers had them it should be right there with the mag if it does, and I don't see one in the pic.

Another thought, did you clean the mount points and regap the mag?

#11 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 11, 2012 - 07:57 AM

i looked thru the engine pdf and didnt see anything about points or condenser.
i seem to have misplaced my feeler gauge someplace. gonna have to pick up a new set today when we run into town.
i have used a business card in the past but not sure if they have changed thickness or not.

#12 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 11, 2012 - 09:04 PM

Isn't it amazing how stuff like feeler gauges disappear? Been there, done that.

Does it try to run at all with the cover off?

#13 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 12, 2012 - 04:47 AM

it runs with the shroud off, i took a jumper wire and grounded the shroud which stopped the sparking.
i went out yesterday and she fired right up. tried it after i cleaned the mag and it had no spark again, it also didnt have spark before i cleaned the mag. i should be getting the new ignition module in the next day or so.

#14 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 12, 2012 - 05:55 AM

Page 8.1 gives an air gap of .008-.012. No condenser.


If, by chance, the rectifier is grounding the 12V output, would that send 12V+ thru the module kill circuit diode? Hopefully, someone will understand that question!

#15 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted June 12, 2012 - 07:11 AM

i used my test light to see if there was a short and causing power to go to the shroud and found none. someone at the ford yahoo group said that the shroud would be grounded while bolted in place and when its off it wont be grounded. i also noticed that while the shroud was not grounded the amp gauge didnt work, as soon as i hooked the ground wire to the shroud or grounded it to the carb it would work.
thanks for the gap, i meant to look it up yesterday but got sidetracked. must be old age creeping up on me.




Top