12 replies to this topic

#1 ardisius OFFLINE  

ardisius
  • Member No: 10062
  • 1 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted June 02, 2012 - 11:18 AM

Hi folks

I have read http://gardentractor...-it-wont-start/, but my difficulty doesn't quite match.
  • Battery fine...motor spins freely
  • Cleaned the air filter
  • Checked fuel flow...fine
  • Checked spark plugs...both firing fine
  • Jumpered the seat safety switch...no help
If the fuel and air flow are fine, the plugs spark when turning over...logically, what more can it be? I'm not a mechanic so I'm not smart at pulling things to pieces further than plugs, filters, etc. but I've done all I can think of.

Any ideas, anyone? I would be very grateful.

Regards

Roy

Edited by ardisius, June 02, 2012 - 11:19 AM.

#2 chris m OFFLINE  

chris m

Tractorholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts

Posted June 02, 2012 - 11:29 AM

1ST off, Welcome to GTt!!.
Sorry to here you are having problems on the GT.

If the compression is good, and you have spark, Then if fuel was introduced to the mix it would start.

I am thinking you have fuel going into the carb, but it seems like the carb is blocked on the inside not allowing it into the cylinder.

I would take that carb off and give it a good cleaning.

Was this running recently? And have you checked compression yet?

Good luck!

#3 ardisius OFFLINE  

ardisius
  • 1 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted June 02, 2012 - 11:38 AM

Very many thanks...

Yes the machine was running till a few days ago. I'll take the carby off and give it a clean. I'll let you know how it works out.
  • chris m said thank you

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,585 posts

Posted June 02, 2012 - 12:23 PM

Before dissambly, I would check to see what the compression is. You may be dealing with sticky valves, etc.