• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Hawkwing OFFLINE  

Hawkwing
  • Member No: 9761
  • 0 Thanks
  • 6 posts

Posted May 22, 2012 - 01:36 AM

Found a 318 onan-powered GT for sale today, and wanted some opinion on price for counteroffer.
Tractor has 220 hrs, garage-kept. (Wonder whether hr meter was replaced or unplugged)
One owner by former JD mechanic- I'm assuming it has been well-maintained.
Looks like new, aside from a few minor dings. Sorry, no pics.
Sounds and runs great, IMHO. (I'm a noob to JD; just got a free 316).
Asking $1800 firm. Is this high, low, reasonable?

#2 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

Tacos!

• Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts

Posted May 22, 2012 - 04:41 AM

Depends on equipement and how it looks but in general that unit sells for more like $2300-$2500. In my opionion the 318 is one of the best JD's ever. About the only one I would consider better would be the 420/430.

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted May 22, 2012 - 04:57 AM

If the hourmeter is correct that tractor is a great buy. You can usually tell if a tractor has been abused or has a lot of hours on it by looking at the overall wear and things like the footwell, operating pedals etc. that wear from use.

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,276 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts

Posted May 22, 2012 - 07:04 AM

Good luck on your negotiating, will be anxious to see pictures when the time comes.

#5 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,450 Thanks
  • 6,616 posts

Posted May 22, 2012 - 07:25 AM