Garden Tractor Forums banner

? For The Deere Guys

3K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  speedyg 
#1 ·
My brother is in the market for a small GT, and he has got his eyes on a 110 with a 10hp kohler. After doing a little research I beleive that they have a peerless tranny in them. My question is, is this the same type of tranny that is in the box store tractors? Some help or model #s on the tranny sure would help. I could not find any info with my searches. Thanks Guys!

#3 ·
It's a Peerless I believe but nothing like a modern box store tractor. I'm not an expert on 110's but I believe they were rated for ground engaging equipment. I'm guessing it's a Peerless 2300 series rear end. I'm sure some 110 experts will be along with more detailed info.

Reactions: speedyg
#4 ·
The two most common 110's that people know are as follows:

1963-1967 110 AKA: Round Fender or RF - The '65 and later machines are powered by a Kohler k181 engine and use the Peerless 4 speed 2300 transaxle. These machines are know as "closed frame" tractors and are quiky to work on when compared to the later 110's. They look like my avatar picture to the left.

The 1968-1974 110 (depending on year) was powered by either the K181 OR the K241 and used the same Peerless 4 speed 2300 transaxle as the RF tractors. This generation of machine shares more in common with the 200 series (208-216) than the RF tractors. They look like this:

Both are good machines and both have challenges related to them. The '66-'74 machines were more common and much cheaper purchase. They are also a bit smaller (length) and take up less space than the '68-'74 models. There is a repower option for the k181-powered tractor but no options for the k241-powered machines.

If I were to pick up a late 110 I would grab a '74 that was made prior to the move to the 200 series. It would have the k241 and the later style PTO and enjoy it.

I hope the helps you with your original ?

#5 ·