Lookie What I Got!

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Hawkwing OFFLINE  

• Member No: 9761
  • 0 Thanks
  • 6 posts

Posted May 17, 2012 - 12:26 AM

Ain't it great to have a brother as generous as I have!
Yeah, she's a bit rough around the edges, and needs some TLC, but she's been garaged, and runs purty good; and beats the crap outta the POS mower I've been using.
SO, looks like you folks have another noob ready to drink the koolaid!
Please allow me to preach on it a bit:
1984 JD 316 (in case it ain't obvious) S/N: 291XXX (onan)
I'm the 3rd owner. My brother got tired of paying his stealership to have a goober mess it up. I'll be doing (almost) all my own work.
I'm new to JD's, but have lots of experience keeping an old '64 Ford 2000 (workmaster) running for the last 20 years. I've found that you can't kill it.
She needs some stuff- hour meter, grill, tail light assembly, seat repair, headlight lens, and the regular maintenance items- fluids, filters, etc. Hopefully I'll get some suggestions from y'all on parts and procedures.
I have the original operator's manual, but do need a service manual. (Help!) Want to get started on this project ASAP! (I'm retired)
I've been cruising this site for a few weeks now and have already discovered a wealth of information, and looks like there are plenty of good folks willing to lend a guiding hand and encouragement. Ain't electronic communities great?
Two problems of immediate concern:
1. Engine wants to stall after running 6-7 minutes. It'll only idle, even at full throttle. Any load kills it. After about a minute of this, engine speed recovers, and off we go! Mildly aggravating, and surely fixable. Any ideas?