12 replies to this topic

#1 mixedbreed96 OFFLINE  

mixedbreed96

Tractorholic

• Member No: 7095
  • 11 Thanks
  • 167 posts

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:20 PM

Hey everyone, been awhile since ive been on here but started working on the bush hog only to find out the head is cracked... seeing how hard it is to find another parts engine im thinking about swapping it with a kohler k301. possible? looking for your opinipons and what id have to do to make this work. thanks in advance, Ryan.

#2 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:24 PM

Ryan,

Wish I could help....but I am just learning about the do's and don't on these GT's......I know that the crank has to be a certain way for it to work....Daniel I am sure will jump in and give you better advice...
I had found a TR-10D on a bolens that I was hoping would be a drop in one of mine....but Daniel informed me that the crank's ends were different and would not work as a drop in....

Good luck!
  • mixedbreed96 said thank you

#3 mixedbreed96 OFFLINE  

mixedbreed96

Tractorholic

• 11 Thanks
  • 167 posts

Posted May 15, 2012 - 11:02 AM

after looking at my possibilities and to make it work like it should with the k301 im thinking about swapping a rear out of a 122 into it aswell and using the clutch and everything from that, i know its not "original" but i want to make it a worker anyhow not a show piece lol. any help in doing this swap is greatly appreciated

#4 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,605 Thanks
  • 29,834 posts

Posted May 15, 2012 - 11:06 AM