Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Smart Fortress 2012


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted May 14, 2012 - 09:15 PM

Hey guys....I was googling for bushhog info today and got this nasty virus on my computer.....6 hours later I think I have finally beat it...I am using my old laptop as the other one goes through an antivirus scan cycle....I was using Micro Soft Essentials at the time the virus was picked up....tried to control alt delete to get to the task manager but the virus would not let it happen...........

I am using Malwarebytes to clean up the computer......if you end up with this....there are many suggestions on how to do it....I ended up 'authenticating it" with a code given on internet....activating it....then going in and getting rid of it...I tried what was suggested by one of the main stream web sites and the virus would not let me get past it to down load the needed items....this has been a very frustrating couple of hours....

Just a fyi....

Edited by sacsr, May 15, 2012 - 05:39 AM.


#2 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 14, 2012 - 09:38 PM

My boss ended up with this. It ended up destroying the computer's ability to utilize a keyboard. USB's recognize the device, just no ability to use them.

We discovered that he got it by clicking on the big red "X" to close a pop-up. There's been a rash of pop-ups lately that seem to have the X as a "Yes" or "Install" button. According to his computer guru, if you get a pop-up, the best way to safely close it is to use cntrl+alt+delete and close it from the task mangler. He also suggested Super Anti Spyware as a supplement to all antivirus software. He also said CCleaner is a good second choice.

The anti-virus people are playing catchup on this one. Hopefully they get their stuff together soon.

Sorry you had to deal with it.

  • sacsr said thank you

#3 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted May 14, 2012 - 09:44 PM

It caught me off guard...the pop up came from where my microsoft essentials icon is on the bottom of my task bar.....I thought I was clicking on it rather than the new virus......

I always us the ctrl, alt, delete method on 99.999% of what I do......just not paying attention to what I was doing....cost me a lot of time!
  • MH81 said thank you

#4 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:05 PM

Thanks for posting this and I'm sorry you had to go through this mess..
  • sacsr said thank you

#5 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:06 PM

Are you guys using the free Ccleaner?

#6 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:10 PM

Actually I've been using the free Super Anti Spyware for quite a while. He had a very un updated version of Malware bytes.
  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#7 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:18 PM

I usually have malwarebytes and/or spybot as a back up on mine....but since loading up mse I had taken it off.....have not used cCleaner....

I have rebooted my other computer and now running malwarebytes to see if there is anything left behind....so far no infections!!

Yahoo!!
  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#8 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted May 14, 2012 - 10:22 PM

I have MSE as my main one with Free Super Antispyware running also. I see several guys using Ccleaner along with the ones I am running. Just trying to do all I can to stop this stuff from happening.




Top