sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted May 06, 2012 - 02:48 PM

I am cleaning and rebuilding a zenith carb for a 60's wisconsin S7D.

I have never done this so I am asking before I proceed.

I have taken out the throttle lever and was going to replace the seal and retainer seal......see pictures below.....my question is the seal in the throttle shaft is held in with the indents on the carb itself.....

I am assuming I take these out to put the new ones in??......any tricks to this???

Just do not want to damage the carburetor.

Thanks

Attached Thumbnails

• wisconsinS7Dzenithcarb1.JPG
  • WisconsinS7Dcarb2.JPG

#2 chris m ONLINE  

chris m

Tractorholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts

Posted May 06, 2012 - 04:32 PM

If it were me, I would pop the old ones out then take a dremel or small file to get rid of those dimples.You shouldn't even have to lock the new ones in. The shaft should hold them in place. Even the bushing on a Carter carb (like in another thread today) it just drops in the hole and the shaft holds it in. If the shaft doesn't rest against it, then you could just make new dimples or just re do the old 3 using a round punch.

No matter what you do have to make that hole round before installing the new ones. Good Luck :thumbs:
  • sacsr said thank you

#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,588 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts

Posted May 06, 2012 - 06:16 PM

That retainer ring looks too large for the hole the seals fits into. Looks like the retainer should be the same size as the seal itself??? I'd be sure the retainer would fit before touching the old one.

#4 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts