broken2

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 85
  • 279 Thanks
  • 425 posts

Posted May 02, 2012 - 09:26 PM

A couple members expressed interest in the seeder I just purchased so I thought I'd post some info and pics. A few times a year I place an ad for plowing and discing food plots and large gardens with my farm/utility tractor. If it's a bigger job I have my dad help me, he loves plowing. I have a ford 2600 and he has a 8n. We both have dearborn two 14" bottom plows and we went halves on a 7' dearborn disc harrow. We have had a lot of fun and made a little money. Every year we have had requests for seeding but didn't have the equipment. This year when we were asked to plow, disc and seed a pasture for alpacas with orchard grass we decided to investigate what would be necessary to do it. I did some research on line and with a local seed/agricultural services provider. I am no expert, have no experience and could be mistaken about any of this info but I found several ways to get it done. A grain drill would be nice but expensive and we couldn't find one to rent. Another way was to plow, disc, run a cultipacker over the plot, broadcast spread the seed and then cultipack again to set the seed in. There has to be seed to soil contact, preferably 1/4" - 1/2" deep. A cultipacker is like a heavy roller with groves in it to create groves for the seed and then press the seed into the soil. We had a tow behind agri-fab broadcast seeder for a gt but no cultipacker. I found a few used cultipackers for sale but all were expensive, $800 &up. Then we found this cultipacker / seeder. It has a cultipacker roller in the front, then a seeder that drop seeds in the middle and then a rear roller to set the seed in and compact the soil, all in one pass. This seeder has more advantages than just the ability cultipack, seed and compact all in one pass. It has ground driven feeder brushes that feed seed only when its moving. If you stop, the feed stops, if you